Find companies:
Yale University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
110 reviews

Yale University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent pay and benefits
Manager (Current Employee), New Haven, CTAugust 30, 2013
My position is very administrative. I have lots of contact with students - which is very energizing. I work in a small office but we do important work for the students. Very rewarding!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very ahppy work at Yale, but have to move with my husband
Supervisor, Molecular Diagnostics Lab (Current Employee), 333 Cedar St, New HavenAugust 29, 2013
Perform various routine and complex clinical laboratory tests, or develop new technologies; Be in charge of all the technical problems as a supervisor; Have very good relationships with all colleagues; Some case is very hard to determine if the patient had cancer or not, very sad for clear indication that the patient has cancer. Have a good team to – more... work together. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits and flexibility
Research Associate (Current Employee), New Haven, CTAugust 15, 2013
Yale University is an great place for a working mother. The benefits are vast and there is a lot of flexibility. In belief due to the benefits, the compensation however is low. I also found that there is a lack in the management system, especially when being managed by people with out a management or business back ground, ie science professionals.

I – more... acquired a vast amount of skills and experience from my position here at Yale. This also let for clinical trial experience which became my passion in the job. After working here, I have an extensive knowledge about all the aspects of humans participating in research studies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High level research facility with cutting edge technologies
Associate Research Scientist (Former Employee), New haven, CTAugust 6, 2013
Pros: good research oportunity, healthcare, benefits
Cons: non secure job
A typical day at work includes a lot of multitasking since my position requires participation in several projects, supervising junior lab members and a senior lab manager responsibility. I learned how to effectively use my time, teach and supervise others, apply totally new methods into every day lab life and troubleshoot them. My management skills – more... improved drastically since I have broad responsibilities to be sure everything works. For example, during a Christmas break I was able to restore failed incubators within 2 days without any valuable cells lost. Good working team in Pulmonary and Critical Care Branch helped me to arrange cells move to another facility, good relationship with Alert Scientific team allowed bringing a tech on the next day despite of being very busy. All this action was performed without any of my colleagues coming to work and interrupting their Christmas vacation time. All PIs were receiving updates on the situation and also did not have to be involved. The hardest part of work is to hear when another PI has to close the lab and lay off all personal because of insufficient or the lack of funding. The most enjoyable part is coming every day to work to be full of ideas, plan another experiment and being rewarded with good data that would help to understand and potentially cure certain disorders. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work enviornment with high expectations
Coordinator (Current Employee), New Haven, CTAugust 5, 2013
This environment is challenging and fast-paced. You will be expected to multitask on a daily basis and are allowed the freedom to complete your tasks without micromanagement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Yale New Haven Hospital was a very productive and friendly place to work.
Discharge Planning Representative (Former Employee), New Haven, CTAugust 1, 2013
Pros: a great place to work
I worked at Yale New Haven Hospital for twenty seven years in various capacities. It was very customer friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work environment
Postdoctoral Fellow (Current Employee), New Haven, CTJuly 31, 2013
Learned how to work productively in an efficient way and how to manage different types of coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great fit for being then pretty computer illiterate, but I was challenged to learn as much as possible
Computer sales and consultation (Former Employee), New Haven, CTJuly 5, 2013
Pros: learning about computers in the early stages of the computer age.
Cons: only able to work there about a year, i had to leave at the time of the birth of our second child.
I really just fell into the job through a friend and was grateful for the work. The people around me were kind to me and patient with my lack of knowledge. I asked many questions and learned, bit by bit, about the various computers that were sold to Yale students and staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love this job and always motivated to go to work
casual dining services (Current Employee), New Haven, CTJune 22, 2013
Pros: free food all day, loyal yale family, one of my passions
Cons: n/a
Yale University is one of my ideal jobs. They gave me the opportunity to do something I enjoy even at home...Cook. When I get to work the first thing I do is see whats on the menu for the day. I get things set up, cleaned and help the chef where its needed. I love my Yale family, we all help each other get thru the day in a fun but professional way. – more... I enjoy connecting with the Yale students and befriending them. We all recognize each others name and approach other in a joyful manner. The hardest part is when its extremely too slow and there is absolutely nothing to do, but we always find a way to stay motivated!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Surrounded by very talented people.
Research Assistant (Former Employee), New Haven, CTJune 20, 2013
Surrounded by very talented people. It was a part time research assistant job that allowed me to work with some of the brightest minds in the world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My years at yale university as a worker went by very quick. I made the most out of it.
Custodian (Former Employee), New Haven, CTJune 19, 2013
Pros: good benefits and pay
Cons: i had a tough time with some of my supervisors
I enjoyed working at yale for over 20 years.I learned alot from so many of my co-workers.I hope to return their one day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place we would all like to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), New Haven, CTJune 18, 2013
Pros: great boss. lots of room for advancement
Cons: was sold
I had the best experience ever working for a boss that wanted to offer me so many advancements, but time did not permit. I was only a temp but i am sure if they were not sold to Yale New Haven Hospital I would have still been there today.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life of a graduate student.
Graduate Student (Former Employee), New Haven, CTJune 10, 2013
Pros: being a student.
Cons: being a student.
Go to work. Code, write, calculate. Go home. Repeat.

I studied high energy physics, doing correlation studies on millions of heavy ion collision events, looking for proof of the QGP.

I worked under a very kind professor, and co-workers were all excellent. The greatest part of the job was the solitude, I was able to focus on what needed to be done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good work environment
Dining Service (Former Employee), New Haven, CTJune 4, 2013
Accountable for prepping food & breaking it down.
Serving hot food in a proper manner
Working in the dish room, sweeping and mopping floors.
Followed many tasks when asked
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first paid research position
Clinical Research Assistant (Former Employee), New Haven, CTMay 23, 2013
Pros: academic setting, location, subject knowledge
Cons: absent manager, no formal training
Yale was an amazing place to work, considering the location and academic environment. I worked in a small research office, and I carved out my own job responsibilities. My predecessor left abruptly for med school and the doctor leading the way was new. He hadn't carved out research plans or metrics to be honest. He was working on his animal research – more... and I kept myself busy trying to organize any data available. I needed Yale to give me insight into what was lacking in coordinating research. Often I sat in on meetings with other department clinics, and I even taught myself the Internal Review Board submission and renewal process. Yale was the perfect stepping stone to Prometheus Research, who landed a major contract with the autism laboratory there. As an analyst at Prometheus doing requirements gathering in other research laboratories, I was able to quickly connect and identify my clients' needs. The latter skill has improved tenfold with experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clinical setting (hospital), fast paced
Office Assistant II, Auditor (Current Employee), new haven, ctMay 11, 2013
clinical setting (hospital), fast paced..........must multi-task
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Associate Research Scientist (Current Employee), New Haven, CTMay 6, 2013
Highly Intellectual crowd excelled in multidisciplinary areas
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Medical Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), New Haven, CTMay 6, 2013
Pros: hour lunches
Replying to messages faxed through answering service
Answer phone
Take messages
Faxing
Release medical records
Excellent co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agree with enter at your own risk
Manager (Current Employee), Central CampusApril 22, 2013
Pros: decent work life balance and benefits
Cons: terrible managament of staff and support staff, can't speak for faculty
Can't speak for university as a whole as each dept. varies. Lot's of inflated egos who can do no wrong unfortunately.

Unless one is a brown noser and bows down to the inflated egos, your life will be miserable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Observing, Adaptable, Learning
YALE SCHOOL OF MEDICINE (Former Employee), New Haven, CTApril 14, 2013
Clinical Rotation (Clerkship): Responsible for history taking, performed physical examination, discussed patient’s lab work, treatment plan, and diagnosis with senior physician. Dictating physician’s notes to an electronic system, and making rounds in the wards (units) and NICU with fellow physician. Attending noon conferences for further knowledge.

About Yale University

What do former President George W. Bush and actress Meryl Streep have in common? They are Yalies. Yale University is one of the – Read more