Find companies:
Yale University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
118 reviews

Yale University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place we would all like to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), New Haven, CTJune 18, 2013
Pros: great boss. lots of room for advancement
Cons: was sold
I had the best experience ever working for a boss that wanted to offer me so many advancements, but time did not permit. I was only a temp but i am sure if they were not sold to Yale New Haven Hospital I would have still been there today.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life of a graduate student.
Graduate Student (Former Employee), New Haven, CTJune 10, 2013
Pros: being a student.
Cons: being a student.
Go to work. Code, write, calculate. Go home. Repeat.

I studied high energy physics, doing correlation studies on millions of heavy ion collision events, looking for proof of the QGP.

I worked under a very kind professor, and co-workers were all excellent. The greatest part of the job was the solitude, I was able to focus on what needed to be done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good work environment
Dining Service (Former Employee), New Haven, CTJune 4, 2013
Accountable for prepping food & breaking it down.
Serving hot food in a proper manner
Working in the dish room, sweeping and mopping floors.
Followed many tasks when asked
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first paid research position
Clinical Research Assistant (Former Employee), New Haven, CTMay 23, 2013
Pros: academic setting, location, subject knowledge
Cons: absent manager, no formal training
Yale was an amazing place to work, considering the location and academic environment. I worked in a small research office, and I carved out my own job responsibilities. My predecessor left abruptly for med school and the doctor leading the way was new. He hadn't carved out research plans or metrics to be honest. He was working on his animal research – more... and I kept myself busy trying to organize any data available. I needed Yale to give me insight into what was lacking in coordinating research. Often I sat in on meetings with other department clinics, and I even taught myself the Internal Review Board submission and renewal process. Yale was the perfect stepping stone to Prometheus Research, who landed a major contract with the autism laboratory there. As an analyst at Prometheus doing requirements gathering in other research laboratories, I was able to quickly connect and identify my clients' needs. The latter skill has improved tenfold with experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clinical setting (hospital), fast paced
Office Assistant II, Auditor (Current Employee), new haven, ctMay 11, 2013
clinical setting (hospital), fast paced..........must multi-task
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Associate Research Scientist (Current Employee), New Haven, CTMay 6, 2013
Highly Intellectual crowd excelled in multidisciplinary areas
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Medical Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), New Haven, CTMay 6, 2013
Pros: hour lunches
Replying to messages faxed through answering service
Answer phone
Take messages
Faxing
Release medical records
Excellent co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agree with enter at your own risk
Manager (Current Employee), Central CampusApril 22, 2013
Pros: decent work life balance and benefits
Cons: terrible managament of staff and support staff, can't speak for faculty
Can't speak for university as a whole as each dept. varies. Lot's of inflated egos who can do no wrong unfortunately.

Unless one is a brown noser and bows down to the inflated egos, your life will be miserable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Observing, Adaptable, Learning
YALE SCHOOL OF MEDICINE (Former Employee), New Haven, CTApril 14, 2013
Clinical Rotation (Clerkship): Responsible for history taking, performed physical examination, discussed patient’s lab work, treatment plan, and diagnosis with senior physician. Dictating physician’s notes to an electronic system, and making rounds in the wards (units) and NICU with fellow physician. Attending noon conferences for further knowledge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive workplace environment
Research Assistant II (Lab Manager) (Current Employee), New Haven, CTApril 13, 2013
Yale University is a great place to work. Coworkers are equally advanced and well qualified for their duties. Supervisor is very nice to workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enter at your own risk
grounds and maintenance (Current Employee), New Haven, CTApril 11, 2013
Pros: befenfits.
Cons: management and how they treat poeple
I have worked here for some time now. I have seen my joy of going to work vanish. Bosses now will yell at you, belittle you in front of anyone. Management uses all types of intimidation. They don’t care about safety until someone gets hurt. You would think that a place like this would have a very high stander and would not treat people like they do. – more... Forget about HR they are no help. I watch a man loss a week of pay because a co-worker was harassing him. He reported it shop stewart, his boss, then to HR. HR then suspended both of them. Most co-workers are great but the best part of the day is when it is over, or weekends when management is not around. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable summer job
Lifeguard/Maintenance (Former Employee), East Lyme, CTApril 2, 2013
Pros: one hour lunch break
great location, beautiful camp ground. Great staff, always making work fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work - hard to get in
Projectionist (Current Employee), New Haven, CTMarch 23, 2013
Pros: the job is rewarding because i am an avid film lover
Cons: not enough hours
I am a casual part time worker. I work for the Film Study Center Department. I am responsible for preparing films and digital media for movie showings in coordination with classroom schedules. Next I operate the equipment and run the movies according to the schedules. I have two co-workers. One has taken a full time position doing the job I described – more... plus some other added responsibilities. My other co-worker is a casual part time worker like myself. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work with amazing benefits although not much upward mobility in current position.
Event Planner (Current Employee), New Haven, CTMarch 19, 2013
I have been gainfully employed by Yale University for over 20 years. Although this has been a very satisfying time in my life, I am looking for upward mobility and more challenges.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intellectual
Research Assistant (Former Employee), New Haven, CTMarch 5, 2013
Research work is 90% mundane data munging but 10% exciting. Great opportunity to work with outstanding professors
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful University to work for
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), New Haven, CTMarch 5, 2013
Pros: loved this job, quite challenging at times. benefits were fabulous.
Cons: pay was low but benefits made up for it.
Busy day working for so many full-time professors and part-time professors, most were easy to get along with others very demanding. My co-workers worked with other professors but when needed, were very helpful and nice. The most enjoyable part of the job was knowing that my day was very productive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great university
Postdoctoral Associate (Current Employee), New Haven, CTFebruary 28, 2013
Pros: health care
Excellent research environment
Very stimulating, challenging and interesting
Collaborations are very useful
People are friendly and productive
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful Christmas Party's
Clinical Receptionist II (Former Employee), New Haven, CTFebruary 25, 2013
Print Schedule with notes if Referral or Co-pay's are require
Cross train on all positions
Management was great
Team work
When there is no teamwork
Morning meeting with breakfast
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for trainee
Associate Research Scientist (Current Employee), New Haven, CTFebruary 13, 2013
talented colleagues, convenient environments, great benefit, devised culture

a bit unsafe location.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entire team makes going to work enjoyable and fun.
Morgue Technician (Former Employee), New Haven, CTFebruary 11, 2013
Pros: great staff, learn a lot
Typical day includes paperwork and autopsies. Learned how to accession patients, assist with autopsies, clean and prepare instruments, etc. Management was great and helpful! Co-workers were fun and enjoyable. Hardest part was preparing all paperwork. Most enjoyable part was doing an autopsy and learning something new everyday.

About Yale University

What do former President George W. Bush and actress Meryl Streep have in common? They are Yalies. Yale University is one of the – Read more