Yankee Candle Company Employee Reviews in United States

Found 334 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with and friendly customers
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Exton, PAJuly 18, 2016
Yankee candle is an amazing company to work for. Everyone of my coworkers welcomed me with open arms and taught me the ropes. I learned more about customer service and time management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call Center Rep- not so good
Customer Service Rep- Call Center (Former Employee) –  South Deerfield, MAJuly 9, 2016
Hours changed weekly. Supervisors are mean and rude. Building is dirty. Bathrooms are gross. You don't just 'answer the phone' cuz they make you do all sorts of things WHILE you're on the phone. Stuffing envelopes, labeling candles, doing backorders, etc. Lots of programs need to be run at the same time and lots of them crash. All the time.
Pros
ummmmm
Cons
No perks as a seasonal employee
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall it teaches you a lot
Assistant manager (Current Employee) –  Broomfield, COJune 28, 2016
Gave me a lot of great experience. I have no room to grow with this company at the moment. That is why I'm searching for a new job.
Pros
great training, fun environment.
Cons
not enough hours, no room to grow
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good atmosphere and people
Part-Time Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Pleasant Prairie, WIJune 28, 2016
Working here was fun. A typical work day consisted of helping customers with product, working on shipments and stocking the sales floor, and keeping the place clean. The employees and management were pretty good. Everyone was outgoing and friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun got to meet different people
Packer (Former Employee) –  Deerfield, MAJune 27, 2016
Packing orders to be shipped to customers, fast paste work , must meet daily shipping quota . work independently . heavy lifting manual work . Seasonal work .
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cheerful and blanced work enviornment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Santa Clara, CAJune 14, 2016
Cheerful and positive work environment. Positive customer interaction. Great management and great product for sales. Learned that a great product sells itself, this is very true with Yankee Candle. A typical work day was very busy assisting customers with their selection and purchases.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Mentor, OHJune 6, 2016
Yankee Candle is a fun place to work and it is very easy to move up in the company. You stand your entire shift and work with the general public every day but you get to meet some of the greatest people.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Staten Island, NYMay 30, 2016
It was seriously the best job I've ever had. But, it's not something to live on. You don't get that many hours, but I still loved it as a part time job.
Pros
Half of on candles
Cons
Barely any hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
ASSISTANT STORE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYMay 21, 2016
Great place to work
very diverse
gained alot of hands on knowledge
learned alot about customer service
great place to learn about the retail world
amazing store manager
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCMay 19, 2016
I would like to say that Yankee Candle is a fun place to work the management Is one of a kind there is no uncomfortable feelings everyone gets along and works together as a team, The product is exceptional and I would recommend this place of business to anyone to require a part time job. I think the hardest part if the job would be if you would like to move up in the company and your not there enough to learn the proper information you wouldn't make it.
Pros
Not enough Hours available
Cons
There is healthcare if full time, employee discounts in store on line
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Candles are my obsession even before I worked at Yankee
2nd Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Bloomingdale, ILMay 16, 2016
Our #1 priority was working with the guest, I loved being a Mngr. I had great co-workers , the best part of my job was getting to see new products first when they were released. The worst part was doing our weekly shipment.
Pros
We got 50% off ALL candles which was GREAT for me.
Cons
Working 9 hr. days with no break or lunch when we were short staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Associate
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Portage, MIMay 16, 2016
Love the job. Great product and fun customers. Often times store and employees will be recognized for their efforts and abilities.
Pros
Great company
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Associate- Second Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Vienna, WVMay 10, 2016
Wish there was better communication with my training. I wish I would of been trained better then what I was.

Overall loved all the customers
Pros
good lunch breaks
Cons
shorts hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Laid Back Work Place
Second Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Lincoln, NE 68516May 6, 2016
Very relaxed workplace. A typical day would include customer service and keeping the workplace looking clean. Co-workers and management are very easy to work with.
Pros
Long breaks, easy scheduling to work with
Cons
variable hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Didn't enjoy aspects of it
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Greenville, SCMay 4, 2016
The customers were fun to help but there always seemed to be drama of some sort between the employees that made it uncomfortable at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and inviting work environment
Sales Associate and Second Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  South Burlington, VTMay 3, 2016
Most days I will work with another manager for about 4 hours. The rest of the time I will be working alone. I always have a list of activities to do to keep me busy and to help keep the store on top of everything. My co-workers are such fun and friendly people and they genuinely care about me as a person.
Cons
No bonuses/ raises for longterm seasonal employees
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Store smells good
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Georgetown, TXMay 1, 2016
Poor management, not enough employees to cover entire shifts. Internal issues with staff and management. Always moving candles around the store for specials or discounts according to planograms.
Pros
Store smells good, store maintained well
Cons
Poor management, candles are expensive
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productive
Cashier at Register (Former Employee) –  South Deerfield, MAApril 28, 2016
I got to work with kids all day and it was nice to be able to see smiles all day and work with customers. I would head off to work, and go straight into waxworks, get the wax warmed up for the dip your own candle and the hands. lunch is a good time, and I like all my coworkers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low stress
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Plainfield, INApril 23, 2016
Pleasant environment to work with a friendly coworker community. The mall prioritizes the safety of the staff and will even escort you to your car at night if asked.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very boring, but easy work experiences
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Savannah, GAApril 14, 2016
The job is not fun at all, many of the customers are old couples. Since it's so slow, training is easy. Not recommended for fast paced people.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 344 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7