Find companies:
YMCA
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,737 reviews

YMCA Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An enjoyable place to work with a friendly and nurturing atmosphere.
Child Care Worker (Current Employee), Fishers, INSeptember 28, 2014
Pros: family environment with both members and coworkers.
Cons: limited number of hours available and low pay.
Caring for childen ages 6 weeks- 10 years in a fun and educational environment. Maintaining a safe and clean environment for children of all ages. Customer service to all members and potential members.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work hard
Camp Counselor (Former Employee), Alexandria, VASeptember 28, 2014
Work hard everyday. Learned alot from day to day . How important it is to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People = Great Job
Projects Assistant (Current Employee), Rockford, ILSeptember 28, 2014
The YMCA of RRV is a fun, dynamic workplace filled with visionary leaders who genuinely care about the future and wellness of their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun being able to interact with members, but it's unorganized
Welcome Center Supervisor (Current Employee), Rockwall, TXSeptember 27, 2014
Constantly short staffed and scheduling is unorganized. Unrealistic goals set for amount of monthly memberships. Money coming in is not reaching budget and even after countless ideas of fundraising being pitched, no action has been taken. Staff and management can be unprofessional and very petty.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
General Helper (Former Employee), Marco Island, FLSeptember 26, 2014
Good people to work with and work for at the YMCA.flexible hours and I got to learn how to do a lot of stuff I didn't know how to do before
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with kids
Summer Camp Counselor (Former Employee), Sandston, VASeptember 25, 2014
Pros: being with the kids.
Cons: being outside in the hot heat all day.
It was fun to work with all different aged children. it was difficult to be outside in the heat all day. sometimes the younger kids would get tired after being in the heat all day, I had to come up with games to make them feel better. The management at the Y were great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace but no room for growth
Membership Representative (Former Employee), Parkville, MissouriSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: free ymca membership
Cons: no growth, low pay.
The most enjoyable part of the job was the interaction with the customers, but no room for growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work enviorment with loving children and families
Receptionist (Current Employee), Dayton, OHSeptember 25, 2014
Working at the YMCA of Greater Dayton is a awesome experience. You get to meet so many nice people and learn about different cultures, lifestyles and backgrounds. My co-workers and supervisor were like another family, we made a great team. I am honored to have worked with such strong, intelligent group of women. Our children and their families made – more... the time tons of fun, and also hard, but overall I have to say that working for the YMCA is a great learning experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Spontaneous and Enjoyable
Camp Counselor (Former Employee), Murfreesboro, TNSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: being outside
Cons: lots of silly questions
Safe keeping of the children as well as actively participating in all activities that they are asked to do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with children
Assistant Group Supervisor (Former Employee), Sewickley, PASeptember 24, 2014
Fun and fast paced environment working and teaching Children. Working with children is the hardest part and the most enjoyable all at the same time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A family orientated facility that is exciting and an amazing place to work
Front Desk Staff (Former Employee), Thomasville, GASeptember 23, 2014
Pros: flexible work schedule, friendly environment
Cons: minimum wage salary
Entering into the work field as a high school student can seem intimidating, however working at the YMCA was the best privilege. They take time to teach you how to use the computers, talk to customers, and multitask with the upbeat, friendly environment. The most difficult part of the job was learning to balance. With the young teenagers running around, – more... customers coming in the door, and the phones ringing, it sometimes seemed impossible, yet once I found a way to stay calm and handle one thing at a time it became an easy task and I overcame this challenge. The most enjoyable part of the job was just being in contact with so many familiar faces. We were a huge part of the community and the coworkers and customers became almost a family and each one of us would help anyone in need without expecting anything in return. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provide a fun and safe environment
Child Care/After School Facilitator (Current Employee), Fairfield, CTSeptember 23, 2014
Its fun preparing activities for the children and seeing there faces when its all done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
afterschool tutoring facility
after school counselor (Former Employee), Greenville, SCSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: educational and enjoyable
Cons: not very structured
enjoyed working with the kids in afterschool/summer program.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We change lives for the better
Youth Leader (Former Employee), Long Beach, CASeptember 23, 2014
Pros: rewarding job
Cons: minimum wage, 22 hours a week
It is fun but rewarding. We get paid minimum wage and work only 22 hours a week. You only advance when you know the right people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad place to work
Personal Trainer (Current Employee), milwaukee wiSeptember 22, 2014
most staff single you out for negative reviews, some friendly co workers, most worried about themselves and not the group
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Free access to gym equipment and pools
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee), Quincy, MASeptember 22, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
The Typical day would start out with sanitation of the Health Club ground and the landscaping upkeep. In between those activities you would also assist with supplying water or preparing day camp activities. Management was great with no issues. My coworkers were helpful and fun. Hardest part of the job would be the landscaping on hot days. The most enjoyable – more... part of the job was the use of the facility for free. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best nonprofits ever!
Executive Assistant to the President/CEO (Former Employee), Richmond, VASeptember 22, 2014
Pros: use of the ymca facilities
Cons: inconsistency in level of healthcare
No one day was ever the same and always interesting. Working with an incredible executive staff and members of the board made each day even more enjoyable. I had the flexibility to learn and grow within the organization during my tenure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Got to help out kids
In Home Respite Provider (Former Employee), Chula Vista, CASeptember 21, 2014
I was a babysitter for special kids. It was fun met a lot of interesting kids.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
by far the best place to work at
Lifeguard, Lifeguard Instructor (Former Employee), alpharetta gaSeptember 20, 2014
my boss was awesome, within a year i had obtained 12 certifications and was making 13.50 an hour on swim lessons. the people who you get to meet just make the job awesome. i miss the ymca, and all the people i got to know while working there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loving environment
Counselor (Former Employee), Lincoln, ILSeptember 19, 2014
Amazing job. Loved working with children. Good management and friendly staff.

1 2 3 4 5

About YMCA

The YMCA was established over 160 years ago as a charity dedicated to the health of both individuals and communities. Our focus – Read more