Find companies:
york college
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
33 reviews

york college Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and learning experience
Front Desk, Career Advisor Assistant (Former Employee), Jamaica, NYJune 6, 2014
...................................................................................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Fun and Productive Professor and Musician
Lecturer (Current Employee), 94-20 Guy R. Brewer Blvd. Jamaica, New York 11451May 31, 2014
Pros: good teaching environment
Cons: can not go on tour doing the semester
Performing on a high level as a professional musician, gives a more intense perspective to teaching and to student learning. When learning from a professor that works in the industry that he/she is teaching in is important to the students and their understanding of the industry they are learning about.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administration/ Accounting Experience
Help Desk Admin Assistant (Current Employee), York, PAMarch 25, 2014
A typical day at work is checking the schedule to make sure all students have showed up for their shift or who is coming into work for the day. As Admin on duty I am responsible for supervising the students and making sure they are working on appropriate things. I order supplies as needed and maintain the budget as expenses are being spent. I enjoy – more... the students I work with and learning how they grew up and the things they did. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Place
Stationary Engineer (Current Employee), Jamica, Queens NYFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: great coworkers, short distance from home
Cons: lack of funds for machines
A typical day at York College consumes of containing plant and preforming P.M. I have been working in my field for about 22 years now and there is never a day that goes by were you are not learning something new. It is a requirement in my field to stay in touch with many technological advances. I am currently in management and I strive to make the work – more... place safe and sufficient. My coworkers are a pleasure to work with. The hardest part of the job would be the lack of funds for repairs needed. The most enjoyable part of the job would be the work atmosphere with my coworkers and of course my trade. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
Custodian (Former Employee), Queens, NYJanuary 12, 2014
Cons: i was laied off.
I responsible was to clean the floors, make sure the waste baskets were emptied Make sure the sidewalks were clean
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for entry-level employees.
Adjunct College Laboratory Technician (Current Employee), Jamaica, NYDecember 30, 2013
I am working as an Adjunct CLT, and have assigned to assist General Biology and Microbiology classes two days a week. I help my supervisor to prepare media, bacteria slides, solutions and other reagents for the laboratory exercises. My co-workers are always friendly and ready to help me in any situation. I have learned many things during this job, and – more... looking forward for other challenges. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good learning Experience
Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) (Former Employee), Jamaica, NYSeptember 22, 2013
I aas selected from Queens College student pool and allowed to practice in the Internal Revenue Service sponsored
for the Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) program for 2010 filing season. I had the opportunity to work as an IRS Tax Preparer and filed income tax returns for clients with W2, 1099MISC, 1099R, SSA, SSI, 1099G, 1099INT and students.
I – more... also gained practical experience in the field, and volunteered to help the less fortunate by providing income tax filing absolutely free of charge. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Instresting Setting for a student to work
Secretary/Receptionist (Former Employee), Queens, NYAugust 4, 2013
A typical day consists of running errands. I got to learn the insights from both students and faculty staff who work in my college and that was a fun thing to learn
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment
Campus Police Officer (Former Employee), York, PAJuly 27, 2013
Typical day at work would involve traffic control, ensuring safety of faculty, and students, also the protection of buildings. Foot patrols of dorms. Enforcing policies, and procedures. Most enjoyable part of my job without a doubt was the interaction with the students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best job I have ever had
Teaching Adjunct (Former Employee), Jamaica, NYMay 28, 2013
I worked with some extremely wonderful people. I learned a lot about various dynamics that went into various aspects of a tertiary institution.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place for children
Receiving Assistant (Former Employee), Queens, NYMay 23, 2013
This job was a difficult one but if you enjoy the company of children then you will fit in fine with this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was workstudy
Student Support Services (Former Employee), Jamaica, NYMay 9, 2013
I learned a lot. It was a great place to get some experience while in college.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent experience
Assistant Lab Supervisor (Former Employee), York, NEApril 28, 2013
Flexible schedule, part time
Learned safety and quality control in laboratories
Excellent management by department head
Worked on my own and made decisions with limited supervision
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was the job that i enjoyed the most in my life. Very rewarding to teach young people and open their minds to different possibilities.
Adjunct Lecturer (Former Employee), Jamaica, NYApril 16, 2013
Pros: excellent staff and ver friendly and helpful colleagues and superb management
Cons: long commute
I loved working for York College I learned how to work with diverse population and how fulfilling it is to realize that you made an impact in somebody's life and inspired these young children to reach for the stars in spite of any difficulties they might come across in their life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good school
Clerical Assistant (Current Employee), Queens, NYApril 11, 2013
Pros: performing arts
Cons: needs a better campus
tuition is inexpensive
classes are not too hard
good professors
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Learn Various Computer platforms
College Assistant/Computer Lab (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 13, 2013
Great balance between work and classes. I had the opportunity to experiment, explore and implement various ideas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NORMAL WORKING PLACE FOR STUDENTS
CUNY Security Assistant (Former Employee), Jamaica, NYDecember 22, 2012
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
I have no intention to do this experience again. Every day was the same. I just do what I have to do cause I needed the money to pay my fare in order to attend classes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
York COllege
Assistant Camp Counselor (Former Employee), Jamaica, NYDecember 13, 2012
Pros: the pay
Cons: the employees & employers attitudes
York college summer program is one of the worst most unorganized programs that i have ever worked for. The employers are very rude and form cliques to isolate others and the kids are very rude as well. The lunch may be the best part of this job and the hardest part is dealing with constant criticism from the boss when other employee act unprofessional – more... but are not blamed or punished. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
one of the first best work experince in my life.
Office Assistant/ Adult Learning Center (Former Employee), Jamaica, NYSeptember 19, 2012
it was a fun very chilled place with friendly atmosphere with everyone involved and helping each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
York College
Chartswell (Former Employee), York, PASeptember 17, 2012
Pros: free lunch, free etc in the cafteria
Cons: other people trying to correct my job when the boss gives me a job to do.
Very positive job. I would be on the line making sure my pizzas were made and I had more done in stocked. I was always ahead of schedule. Fast worker, Independent worker. My management always gave me good news about me and my job. My co-workers were great people. They helped me a lot and helped me if I needed help. The hardest part about this job was – more... dealing with people not knowing English and having to always translate for them. It effected with getting my job done. What I enjoyed most was working with people with mental problems. Just knowing how to work with these kind of peoples and having the patience for them. – less