York Companies Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a good job
Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  York, PADecember 3, 2017
It was a good job to work at it was great company great people there all open to help anyone that needs it but it's easy work a day it's all the same speed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Same as any company
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Shepherdsville, KYAugust 9, 2017
Same as any company you work for. The hours were nice. Having 3 days off. Nice atmosphere to work in. Not a hard job. Management was okay. I didn't learn anything.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent temp place
WAREHOUSE SUPERVISOR, PENSKE LOGISTICS (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYApril 13, 2017
they get you a job really fast but the jobs to choose from aren't that great the best thing is atleast you will have a job. the people are very nice and easy going
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staffing agency to get your foot in the door. They created a lot of opertunity.
TEMP WORKER (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYFebruary 27, 2017
Operated heavy equipment, including forklifts, stair climbers and pallet jacks. Verified loads against shipping papers. Met and surpassed productivity targets and quality standards. Answered customer questions regarding shipments. Verified sales orders before loading and unloading merchandise. Oversaw special orders and after hours, urgent shipping jobs. Unloaded, picked, staged and loaded products for shipping. Oversaw warehousing and storage practices and housekeeping. Also did machine operation in factories across the Ohio Valley. Worked in a CNC Lathe shop and in an aluminum processing plant. Worked in a factory that made semi tuck differentials for six months in Louisville, Ky. Operated overhead crane and molten pieces of metal on a daily basis.
Pros
Decent pay, learned many different traits true lots of assignments.
Cons
The recession hit and they laid me off.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best experience
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYFebruary 24, 2017
I enjoyed working for this company they played me on time and also allowed me to move from a minimum wage assignment to a awesome 12 an hour. I also enjoy the management crew
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun experience
Picker/Packer/Shipper (Former Employee) –  New Albany, INJanuary 19, 2017
They help me out a lot with showing me every detail of what was done and its been done and they ask me is there anything that I didn't understand if so then they would have explain it in a different format
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good temp position
HEAVY MACHINERY OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Jeffersonville, INAugust 27, 2015
Good temporary company to work for but no job security. great pay and no benefits. good manager and office staff. good training and jobs but only temporary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the job
Geek Squad (Former Employee) –  Brooks, KYJuly 16, 2015
I love the job and what i'm doing is great. The only things i don't like is temporary service and I have been applying alot job at Geek Squad but not one interview at all.
Cons
Short break.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very clean, safe working environment.
Shipping Dock (Former Employee) –  Mt. Juliet, TNJune 26, 2015
Most days are typically a very relaxed environment. Management does a very good job of monitoring workplace production while allowing enough distance for employees to do their job.
Pros
Good overtime opportunities
Cons
Overtime is sometimes required on very short notice
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job was not terrible hard. good people willing to teach.
laptop cleaner (Former Employee) –  Shepherdsville, KYJune 16, 2015
started work at 6p. learned to use softthinks system and processing of LG pc monitors.Learned processes of Samsung galaxy tablets.
Pros
pay was good. work didin't involve too much heavy lifting.
Cons
receptionist was cold shouldered
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your average temp service
Temp (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYMay 13, 2015
Temp assignments were not too far from living and shifts were practical. Not much room for advancement in the fields.
Mostly basic picker packer work or general assembly jobs
Pros
close to home, timely pay, decent schedules
Cons
turnover rates hurt quota, little notice of overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sends to places that best matched job skills
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Shepherdsville, KYApril 19, 2015
Management willing to work with its people. Well paying jobs. Clean work environment. Paychecks were always on time. Brakes were of sufficient time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They release employees with no notice.
Induction (Former Employee) –  Shepherdsville, KYFebruary 4, 2015
Working at Best Buy Dis.. I've learned how to induct items into the computer. Working at Best buy it's very environmental friendly they hire people of all races, backgrounds, and mental health. The hardest part for working at best buy was learning all the new job task they'd introduce you to. The co-workers were AMAZING very well mannered. And I enjoyed interacting with other employees and learning their backgrounds and where they come from.
Pros
They have a good work environment.
Cons
They will release you on short notice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good for a temp jobs
Temporary Employee (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYJune 17, 2014
good for a temp jobs had a lot of jobs for you management good you getting work good
Pros
lot of work
Cons
temp jobs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. I found shelved itemps and I inspected packed and shipped.
Temp. Service (Former Employee) –  Shepherdsville, KYMay 19, 2014
great work. I wish they had of had full time available. I found desired shelved items, inspected and packed items.
Pros
Great Company to work for, and I got along well with others and wasn't harassed or bullied.
Cons
I have nothing bad to say about it. It was a great job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great jobs, horrible communication.
Warehouse Asscioate (Former Employee) –  Sheperdsville, KYApril 22, 2014
Work was fine, your normal warehouse stuff at both assignments. I learned a lot more about warehouse jobs I hadn't done previously. Management was not could as far as York itself is concerned, terrible communication. Had only one bad co-worker, not York's fault. Nothing really hard, and it was enjoyable because it kept you busy but for the most part wasn't overwhelming.
Cons
temp
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
ipod repair technician (Former Employee) –  Louisville , KYApril 9, 2014
My first job . i loved working there. i was always excited to go to work. the managers were friendly and my co-worker were very helpful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
IT Technician (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYAugust 20, 2013
This was just something I did to pass the time and pay the bills......Nothing more that a temp agancy.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working dedicated staff members.
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  louisville, kyApril 2, 2013
Better than average tempory job service. Enjoyed the communication with staff members.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staffing company that cares about their employees.
General (Current Employee) –  LouisvilleMarch 14, 2013
Overall good experience- treat their employees better than other agencies.
Pros
good company to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at York Companies. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 24 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.5
Culture
3.9