York Technical College Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Rewarding
Adjunct Instructor of Industrial Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Rock Hill, SCOctober 9, 2017
Great place to work if you can get a job here. There can be a lack of communication sometimes. The computer systems they use for their online stuff is complicated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kind employees
Graphic Designer (Former Employee) –  Rock Hill, SCOctober 4, 2017
Everyone was incredibly kind and welcoming throughout my time there. My only reason for leaving was mostly due to a lack of hours and health benefits. It paid pretty fairly and was a good work environment, but being state ran I knew chances of getting benefits were slim to none.
Pros
Kind employees
Cons
Lack of healthcare and no chance at full-time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adjunct Instructor
Adjunct Instructor (Former Employee) –  Rock Hill, SCSeptember 12, 2017
Taught Continuing Education classes in the evening
Regular computer class plus Certification class in Microsoft Office, Certified Production Class, Networking and A+ classes

Love the work
Pros
Pay and the staff
Cons
Short classes some were place in classes they were not ready to enter
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Yes there was a work out area.
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Rock Hill, SCSeptember 12, 2017
This is a trucking company we never meant in the office but an awesome company to work for the owner was a nice guy and the pay was fair i just had to explore other options.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a student, not an employee.
Student (Former Employee) –  Rock Hill, SCAugust 25, 2017
York Technical College was a great school. I had a very favorable learning experience when I went there. However, I was a student and not an employee of the school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independant Distributor
Student (Former Employee) –  Rock Hill, SCJune 15, 2017
Professional Profile
Eager to bring support by providing excellent administrative and customer service skills. Knowledge, skills, and abilities also include: medical office switchboard operator, retail management, business office coordinator, corporate bill auditing, executive administrator, website design, and human resource assistant.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assembly line
CWI/CWE and Instructor (Former Employee) –  Rock Hill, SCJune 12, 2017
Get as many students through as you can, I was told. Profit seems to be more important than proficientcy to them. Be cautious about being asked to make changes, this administration seems to want to stay in the last decade.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great environment
Adjunct Faculty Professor (Current Employee) –  Rock Hill, SCApril 4, 2017
engage with students
mentor and coach students
teach how to be successful in college and life
listen to students needs and lead in the right direction
offer the best possible solutions to learners
Pros
work with students
Cons
part-time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organizing
Administrative Assistant, Orientation Center (Former Employee) –  Rock Hill, SCOctober 4, 2016
This taught me at a Early age how to mange different things all at one time while I was preparing for my career of life. Co workers there were very kind and patient.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer Job
Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rock Hill, SCMay 9, 2016
I had a summer job at York Tech, Working with financial aid and enrollment counselors, assisting them at anything they needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible hours to work with, plenty time to study and get work done.
assistant (Current Employee) –  Rock Hill, SCNovember 23, 2015
Fun work place with good work people. Everyday is a new and exciting day. Never get tired of working here with the same people.
Pros
plenty time to work and study.
Cons
low pay and only paid once a month.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Counseling Intern (Current Employee) –  Rock Hill, SCFebruary 18, 2015
I have never felt more welcomed and valued by a set of co-workers. York Technical College is invested in my personal and professional growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outside all day
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Chester SCDecember 23, 2014
Completed Nine-week intensive Transportation Careers Training Program.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Chester, SCOctober 11, 2014
the management is the best so far. working with others is the best part of the job.
Pros
everything
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Giving back to the community
Peer Tutor and Peer Counselor (Current Employee) –  Rock Hill, SCOctober 6, 2014
Helping others by giving back to the community. Helping others to reach their full potential through tutoring and counseling.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational
Student Learning Customer Service/Data Entry (Former Employee) –  ClassroomsSeptember 15, 2014
I would attend my classes and learn about Data Entry, Customer Service, Psychology and increasing my typing speed. Everyone was friendly overall. I found nothing challenging. I enjoyed my Psychology class because everyone shared their opinions on various topics which was the foundation of the class.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top down management - hostile work environment
Faculty (Current Employee) –  Rock Hill, SCAugust 24, 2014
A medium size public institution. Important decisions are made at the top and imposed on the faculty. Some of the promotional opportunities go to the inner circle of the administration and some appointments are made without advertising. Some top administrators got promoted despite their incompetence and continued hostility toward their employees. HR is very ineffective in resolving conflicts.
Pros
Stable job with good healthcare and retirement benefits.
Cons
Promotions limited to the inner circle of the management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School
Adjunct Instructor (Current Employee) –  Rock Hill, SCJuly 30, 2014
Wonderful place to work. Wish there was more opportunity there.
Pros
Amazing Staff
Cons
very little hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Clinical Coordinator-Surgical Technology (Former Employee) –  Rock Hill, SCApril 10, 2014
Some days were spent in classroom teaching basics of Surgical Technology. Other days were spent in a lab teaching students instruments, positioning & other requirements for functioning in the Surgical Suite.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paper program
Adjunct paper teacher (Former Employee) –  Rock Hill, SCMarch 1, 2014
Taught and developed paper science program to students along with work experience at the paper mill in Catawba, SC.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at York Technical College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 35 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0

York Technical College Reviews by Location