Find companies:
York University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
71 reviews

York University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent place to work; great benefits and the atmosphere was very employee oriented.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Faculty of Arts and later Faculty of Fine ArtsJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits.
Cons: supervising employees who were unhappy with another employee's work habits.
My job was a very busy one. I had diverse responsibilities and the people were great to work with. We mostly worked as a team, but when needed I worked independently as well. The hardest part of the job was dealing with situations where co-workers had problems with each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy summer part-time job
Data Entry Assistant (Former Employee), North York, ONFebruary 19, 2013
Pros: good pay, good hours, flexible, friendly staff
Cons: pressure to produce on point results
I mainly came in when I wanted, and inputed data for a study on effects of collisions in hockey. The tasks itself were not very difficult, but the stress on accuracy was very important and the results would be based on this. I learned how to use microsoft programs more effectively and to value being accurate in the data I inputed. Working with my co-workers – more... was mainly independent work as well, except for any questions or concerns we may have had. The hardest part of the job would be just the stress of making sure there were no mistakes in the data, as if there were it could jeopardize the whole project. The most enjoyable part of the job was that the hours were really flexible and I could make my own schedule. The pay was pretty decent as well for being a student at my age. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment
Graduate Assistant (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 27, 2013
Pros: benefits
Learned what it meant to be a productive worker and student.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great knowledge with intelligent students and professors
Transcriber (Former Employee), torontoOctober 31, 2012
Pros: knowledge
Cons: not enough hours
attending classes in a university setting and gaining valuable knowledge
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible working hours
Exam Invigilator (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 13, 2012
As exam invigilator,York University will offer you shifts to choose according to your availabilty and convieniency with a compatible wages.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place. Great people to work with
DESKTOP SUPPORT TECHNICIAN (Former Employee), Toronto, Ontario, Canada.January 17, 2012
Pros: great people and culture
Cons: worked as a temporary not permanent
York University was a great place to work.
The people were great to work with and the work environment was wonderful.
The job was less stressful and the schedules were good to work with.

Retireee – August 21, 2012

that is because you are protected by the Union.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As a Student and Teaching Assistant
Teaching assistant (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 14, 2014
The academic environment is encouraging and productive. The research environment is accepting and vibrant.

Students and researchers receive a lot of support and encouragement from faculty and the administration at York.

Glad to be a part of the team here at York.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic
Admissions Recruitment Assistant (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 21, 2014
great univeristy, lots of oportunity to grow academically and learn quality skills to apply in the professional world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
-
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJune 19, 2014
Good Environment
Friendly Coworkers and staff
Learned a lot
Many opportunities
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Vice-President ISAY (Current Employee), York, ONJune 11, 2014
Learning how to work as a leader in a team. Learn about new cultures is the most interesting thing about my job. Meeting new people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good work environment
Annual Fund Representative (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 6, 2014
Pros: friendly co-workers
Cons: not enough hours
A typical day at work would start off by a fun question or an interesting fact about the work or the clients we are about to talk to. After we were given our duties which included contacting the University's alumni's. In this job I learned how to resolve any objectives and how to handle the all sorts of customers. One of my favourite part about the – more... job was the work environment. It was very friendly and if one of the workers ever had any trouble the managers were always ready to help. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive goal oriented environment
Business Analyst (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 3, 2014
Pros: held annual parties celebrating workers efforts
Cons: long hours
Typical day involved going in and making and setting goals. A team oriented environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and advanced in chemistry research
Research Assistant in Dept. of Chemistry (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMay 23, 2014
• Conduct project-related experiment, collect and analyze primary experimental data, and summarize project results
• Prepare literature reviews, reports and presentations based on project progress
• Provide ready access to all experimental data for the faculty researcher and supervisor
• Request or acquire equipment or supplies necessary for project
 – more... Supervise lower-year undergraduate students working on the research project – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Background
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), TorontoMay 22, 2014
I am recent graduate from Taras Shevchenko National University of Kyiv. Also I was studying in Seneca College of Arts and Technology for one semester and my major was International Business. I finished my study in York University at the end of April and my specialization is Master of Economics. In addition to my entrepreneurial side and my university – more... background I also have a chance to work for 8 month as a Accounting Clerk for Canadian company Infinity Medical Group Inc. From this internship I gained strategy, problem solving, detail-orienting and excellent analytical skills that complements my accounting and finance knowledge. This not only made me a better well-rounded person but has also sparked a strong desire for continuous learning. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hectic
Minor Official/Event Staff (Former Employee), TorontoMay 21, 2014
Hectic work but fun and enjoyable. Able to work with others which is fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Developed and implement a web application using Asp.Net,
Asp.Net Developer (Current Employee), North YorkMay 20, 2014
Developed and implement a web application using Asp.Net, Telerik controls (asp.net, AJAX) and MS SQL Server. The AAPR (Academic and Administrative program) web application provides administrative functionality for site authors to manage and approve student FAQ and other course related records.
• Use Telerik asp.net, AJAX control
• Modified applications – more... according to the business and user requirements
• Completed project under extremely tight timelines
• Responsible for the implementing new code, bug fixes and troubleshooting technical issues
Technical environment: ASP.Net 4.0, Visual Studio, SQL Server – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked as a teaching instructor for 14 years during which my professional development reached the heights I strived to reach.
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Ross SouthMay 15, 2014
A good educational institution with an excellent work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely Productive workplace, full-filling and room for growth
Telephone Interviewer (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMay 15, 2014
Pros: for every survey completed you received commissions
Cons: if your unsuccessful not by choice, it may result in losing hours or possibly terminated. its the nature of this position
A Typical day is extremely invigorating, face-paced, motivating, and a constant challenge.

I've learned quite a bit about surveys and what they promote and stand for. Helping the public, and teaching them new information such as health, and exercise, and also teaching myself of the new studies and information.

Management is great here, always motivating – more... you, and providing you with training to keep your progress going. Giving us new information to learn and perform in our daily jobs. Their always supportive, and informative if anything is challenging

Working with co-workers at this organization is wonderful its based more on a supportive level, helping to keep each other motivated, however it is a one on one working environment.

The hardest part of the job, is not reaching enough people to get surveys completed, it can bring your progress down and result in losing hours.

The most enjoyable part of the job, is hearing what the general public has to say about the new information given for their benefit, and how it impacts their lives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Employer
Service Desk Analyst (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMay 7, 2014
• Archived 95% problem resolution rate of all inbound client calls within 15 minutes, best in group
• Synchronized Dominos server with Lotus Notes; facilitated sending and receiving email
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Environment
Exam Invigilator (Former Employee), North York, ONApril 30, 2014
Working at York is great; you get to work with fellow students, learn new skills in a new workplace, and create balance between school and work. It teaches you responsibility and being able to function as an independent person after school is done. Working at York University has been a great experience and opportunity, and I would recommend Work/Study – more... jobs to any student. – less

1 2 3 4