Yoshinoya America, Inc. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAFebruary 12, 2018
I got along well with all my coworkers. We were all young but we still did what we had to do if course there were those moments we slacked off but it was really fun. I made friends at yoshinoya for about 2 Years.
Pros
Pretty much everything.
Cons
Closing was the only bad thing it was super late.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and experience filled
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAFebruary 9, 2018
Overall, my experiences at Yoshinoya are great. Challenging at times, but it has helped me develop into someone who thinks a lot more rather than reacting. There's growth within not only within employees but the company as well due to real world events that take place.
Pros
50% off meals
Cons
Short breaks, Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Santa Monica, CAFebruary 5, 2018
This company is great, I advanced to a higher position in less than 6 months. However, when the minimum wage went up again, they refused to increase my salary. I believed that was unfair because I was getting roughly the same hourly as all the other employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Pico Rivera, CAFebruary 2, 2018
Great place to work , very friendly new food and very undertandavle with school & a very friendly enviorment to work at i would really recomend for a first job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast food restaurant
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Carson, CAJanuary 31, 2018
When it's slow, you can just clean up and restock to keep yourself busy, on rush hour you typically get a lot of customers, so you have to move fast but be patient with the customers
Pros
select your days
Cons
healthcare, part time postions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work area
Cook / maintenance (Former Employee) –  Gardena, CAJanuary 4, 2018
-hardest part was running a kitchen alone
-learned how to manage my time well]
-most enjoyable time was when they let us play our own music.
-manager supplied me with new shoes for work
Pros
discounts
Cons
too busy to order
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its alright if your looking for your first job
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CADecember 31, 2017
Overall: the company itself seems to have a good working enviroment. just that when asking for hours, all they can do is just give you like 2 hours extra if your a part timer like i was.
Pros
A work enviroment in which helps amongst each other
Cons
time management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Whittier, CADecember 15, 2017
I have enjoyed working for Yoshinoya. The manager and assistant manager was both very respectful. When ever I needed extra help on anything they are both willing to help me. My manager always find time to refresh our memory every 6 months. My manager find way to motivate us at work all the time.
Pros
free lunch and desert
Cons
can not cook and eat steak without managers approval.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Siempre la comida fue gratis
Kitchen Staff (Former Employee) –  Alhambra, CANovember 13, 2017
Buena empresa para empezar aprendi ser cajero y cocinero
Pros
Promociones
Cons
No tenias seguro medico
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Work Experience
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Westlake, LANovember 3, 2017
Working at Yoshinoya was Challenging but fun considering the fact that It was my 2nd job in my teenage years.
I was able to learn so much from working with them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Cashier Host Hostess (Former Employee) –  Chula Vista, CAOctober 11, 2017
I enjoyed working at Yoshinoya because i got to meet a lot of people and it was just fun. Tasks were usually easy. Very flexible. Discount on meals. Always had something to do.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Cashier (Current Employee) –  North Hills, CASeptember 29, 2017
The work here is good compared to other fast food chains. I enjoy my shift. The only problem here is that there is no security in my area there is a lot of homeless people.
Pros
50% off one plate
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful . understaffed
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CASeptember 22, 2017
Very stressful. Never had enough employees.
Wouldn't get enough time to count register. There would never be any managers at night time closing. Offten it would only be me and another girl. We would stay open until 1 am and would have to trek the doors open. I didn't feel safe.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many changes within company managment.
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Stanton, CASeptember 10, 2017
It's was a very un organized company. There were many changes being made at the time I joined the company. Labor concerns made it stressful because we couldn't schedule enough employees to handle business. Hard to hire employees because of the starting salaries. Everyone would start out at minimum pay rate.
Pros
Hours of operations.
Cons
Always short staffed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
Shift in charge (Former Employee) –  Canoga, NYSeptember 6, 2017
It was a great opportunity . Long hours where put in. On a day to day basis for me at yoshinoya would to clock in assign me a register help out the n the kitchen go back and fourth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Environment
Cashier/Cook Senior (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CASeptember 4, 2017
The most enjoyable part of this job was making customers happy/satisfied. Working as a cashier for this job was easy to meet new people learn about the different people.
Pros
Lively, good environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Continues work enjoyable
Cook/Prep (Former Employee) –  Chula Vista, CAAugust 22, 2017
The coworkers are great, just some of the elders working there like to cause problems. But beside that, the place is great the food in the morning shift is the best . Beef bowl yum
Pros
Half of meal
Cons
Staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First paying job!
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Moreno Valley, CAAugust 14, 2017
I had fun working here. The people were amazing. Though there were those regular difficult customers, there were always hapoy bubbly customers who made up for having to deal with the difficult ones. The job is very fast paced, i felt like i was running 2 miles nonstop during some rush hours. Multi-tasking is a must here, if you don't know how to, trust, you'll learn. Cleaning is a must know and getting along with the team is a must. I'd say apply if you haven't already.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
GENERAL MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Montebello, CAAugust 12, 2017
Management is supportive with the branch managers. District Manager are always supportive and open-minded with your decision and suggestions.

The company is expanding to provide more accessible locations.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good freindly place to work/ eat at its clean the staff are nice and polite
Cook/Cashier/Server (Current Employee) –  Rowland Heights, CAJuly 23, 2017
Its a fast paced job with room to grow with the company im currently moving up to try to get the assistant manager position, they train you well as if they were gonna train you for the assistant manager position
Pros
Free food and 50% discounts per employee
Cons
Sometimes the hours are short
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Yoshinoya America, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 115 reviews
531
434
332
210
18

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture