Youngstown State University Employee Reviews

Found 95 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits very political and stressfl environment
Secretary (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OHAugust 9, 2017
If you get into the right department this would be a great opportunity.

This can be a hard place to work because there are a lot of people with high egos. If you can get past that this is a great job
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Political and stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great place to work for
Sports Information Intern (Current Employee) –  Youngstown, OHAugust 8, 2017
Everyone was very helpful and friendly and it was a fun work environment. There was always something that needed to be done so it was a very fast paced job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to learn new things. Laboratories are perfect that they are updated and diverse in nature. The environment is pretty good with in the
Graduate Assistant (Current Employee) –  Youngstown, OHJuly 29, 2017
Excellent place to learn new things. Laboratories are perfect that they are updated and diverse in nature. The environment is pretty good with in the school to do new research. Professors are very talented and experienced.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ysu
Student Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OH 44555July 24, 2017
It was a student job so you don't have security in the job for each semester and there were no benefits for that reason. Otherwise it was a good job and place to work.
Pros
Able to choose hours
Cons
No benefits, part time only, no job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Student (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OHJuly 24, 2017
A typical work day involved greeting students, scheduling them with their mentors or directing them to appropriate offices, delivering and receiving mail, and other clerical duties. Management was always very helpful and answered questions readily.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OHJuly 17, 2017
It is a great opportunity to work on campus. They are aware of how school can be stressful and work around your class scedule. It is an overall frienfly environment.
Pros
Work around your schedule for classes
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job while In School
Student Program Assistant (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OHJuly 17, 2017
Loved my job, but was only to make money while I was in college. Overall loved my supervisors, and were great managers. Wished that students were allowed to work more hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work there as a student
Dean's Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OHJuly 2, 2017
best place to work as a student! they take into consideration your class schedule and homework, finals, etc. you can even do your homework or study between classes depending on which office you work at.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Employee
Graduate Assistant Intern (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OHJune 15, 2017
The work was encouraging and guiding students. The hardest part of my job was the Starfish season and a typical day was meeting and mentoring student.
Pros
Meeting students, staff and faculty
Cons
A part-time position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed but fast pace
Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Youngstown, OHJune 14, 2017
I love working here at Youngstown State University, they always work around my school class schedule, and if I need to have a day or week off for a vacation they give no trouble about it.
Pros
Must work around school classes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work. Very flexible.
Lead Tutor (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OHMay 19, 2017
It's a Good place to work. It did not pay much. However, they are very flexible with your schedule. Good people, I would recommend working here to anyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun work place.
Student Worker (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OH 44555May 11, 2017
I think that the time that I have send with them was wonderful. They taught me more on how to work in a workplace, how to organize the work load, and how to make such everything is in right place.
Pros
Get to eat lunch during work.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day
Assist head recreation coordinator (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OHMay 2, 2017
YSU is a great school and the job I had as a manager for the men's basketball team was a fun privlage that let me experience first hand how a NCAA practice and team was run. I got to shadow and learn from the head strength coach as well and the importance of proper in- and out- of season training.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice University Environment
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Youngstown, OHApril 5, 2017
YSU is always gonna be special because I came to the States for the first time to go here. Its a nice school with lots of promise for improvement. Really helpful professors and staffs.
Pros
Quite, Peaceful, Nice people
Cons
Winter too cold
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Instructor
Instructor/Teacher (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OHApril 3, 2017
Very laid back atmosphere and in total control of class. No complaints at all. My typical day consisted of teaching what ever subject that was assigned to me and lecturing new material and going over old material
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student job
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OHMarch 31, 2017
The office assistant job is for students that attends YSU. It is great job to have while going to school. It helps you work and attend school at that the same time. They work around your school schedule so that you can go to class and still work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was my first 'professional' job (student worker)
Student Web Developer (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OHMarch 29, 2017
Honestly a great university and even better employer of students. The staff is kind and generous to student workers, and are flexible around class hours. Highly recommend a job
Pros
Flexible hours, friendly, beautiful campus
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Youngstown, OHMarch 27, 2017
Tutoring different students helps yo increse your personal tools , ability to work with everyone . As a graduate assistant im having fun while tutoring in maths assistant centre at ysu
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, nice community
Audio Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OHMarch 23, 2017
Easy work place, everyone is kind and laid back, competitive compensation, interesting art community, hard working english community, and fun experience overall.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good atmosphere to work
Public Address Announcer (Current Employee) –  Youngstown, OHMarch 22, 2017
Good attention to detail and overall atmosphere of a group working together. The department holds a workable number of staff to complete the job without waste.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Youngstown State University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 96 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.9
Culture
4.1

Youngstown State University Reviews by Location