Youngstown State University

Youngstown State University Employee Reviews

Found 66 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a great place to work
coach (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OHSeptember 20, 2016
very interesting place. unless you are football nobody cares that you exist. communication is almost non existent, Seems like everyone has their own agenda
Pros
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall no complaints. Positive atmosphere.
Coordinator of Professional Development (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OHAugust 10, 2016
I have a lot of respect and was treated wonderful by my previous boss. I was heard and picked up so much from learning that my position was audited and accepted. My pay was then increased.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed teaching!
Instructor & Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OHJuly 31, 2016
Enjoyed teaching and challenging students to go beyond their perceived limits. The University was very accommodating with providing teaching resources.
Pros
Excellent pay as well freedom to approach teaching creatively
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working at YSU
Instructor; Tutor (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OHJune 16, 2016
The Communication Department is awesome to work for because the Dept. Chair and Faculty are flexible, fun, and promote creativity, academic excellence, and encourage diversity in educator styles/methods of teaching.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good time.
Admissions Intern (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OHJune 2, 2016
It was a great opportunity. Could use some improvement, but is heading in the right direction. Especially thanks to the new president.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the work place
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OHMay 27, 2016
I think that working at Youngstown State University was great, and sad that I had to leave. There will be no other job like it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Oceanography Instructor (Current Employee) –  Youngstown, OHMay 9, 2016
The Geology Department is great to work for. They are very patient and willing to help with any questions or struggles you might have.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional Learning Environment
Part-Time Faculty (Current Employee) –  Elyria, OHApril 28, 2016
This is an exciting, challenging learning environment for Undergrad Social Workers. There is a good blend of traditional and non-traditional students from diverse backgrounds. The students appear to be there for the right reasons and are going to make exceptional Social Workers in the next few years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Master's Student
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OHApril 22, 2016
Pay was terrible for the amount of work expected, though it may be higher now. No benefits. Your specific experience as a grad student at this institution will depend on the department you belong to.
Pros
QUEST research fair, nice sized campus
Cons
being a grad student
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GoodUniversity
Graduate Student Researcher (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OHApril 9, 2016
YSU is a good university for the location. To have a University right here in town i was able to stay at my home and attend classes. i was a non traditional student.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Work, OK Environment
Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OHFebruary 7, 2016
Really enjoyed the staff- everyone was very supportive and kind in helping with any question/concern you may have. Generic office work- answering phones, sorting mail, handling fax/copies, running errands for professors or staff and computer work. Only problem is the one indication of budget troubles these particular positions are the first to be phased out leaving you without a job.
Pros
Low Stress, Easy Work
Cons
No Advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment to learn and work
GRADUATE ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Youngstown, OHJanuary 30, 2016
Youngstown State University is a good school. I am so impressed with the Co-operation of Professors and Colleagues at YSU. I learned how to become self motivated, objective oriented to achieve the goal.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting but sometimes fast paced at YSU Catering
Server (Current Employee) –  Youngstown, OHJanuary 1, 2016
The job is fun but helps you learn how to multitask. I enjoy it when I can work bigger events so that I can work as a team with my co-workers. The hardest thing about the job is every once in a while you will get a finicky customer but overall I handle those situations pretty well!
Pros
Free meals during break, Tips are given sometimes
Cons
you may have to wait a long time till you can take your break
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OHNovember 10, 2015
Fun work place with fun colleagues. Advisor provided a hands off approach which I really enjoyed. Would be nice if YSU add more funding for better resources.
Pros
Make your own hours
Cons
Resources/Funds
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Rewarding Experience.
Formal Tutor (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OHOctober 4, 2015
Management consists of wonderful, happy people who make working fun. Tutoring was challenging, exciting, and rewarding. It was a very enjoyable experience for me.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best place EVER to work
daytime team lead of cleaning crew (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OHSeptember 12, 2015
people there were AWESOME!!! friendly helpful and kind...fun exciting place to work...fast pace energetic atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a great place to learn
Teaching Assistant (Part-time Faculty) (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OhioJuly 11, 2015
Its a University town, nice people, great learning experience. Taught while doing Masters. I got great education from this University.

Bad weather in North East Ohio
Pros
University
Cons
University Town
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Adjunct Faculty MLS/MLT Program (Current Employee) –  Youngstown, OHJuly 1, 2015
Great place to work, flexible scheduling.
Great students and staff.
Professional growth opportunities with great support of faculty.
Pros
Students
Cons
No full time faculty positions available
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed it!
Academic Advising Intern (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OHApril 8, 2015
I enjoyed working for Youngstown State University, as well as attending school there. As a higher education professional, I worked with ethically and professionally competent individuals.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great enviroment to work in.
Adjunct Professor (Current Employee) –  Adjunct ProfessorApril 4, 2015
Co-workers are helpful and friendly. Management is knowledgeable and helpful. A very stress free work environment. Allows for self governing which requires discipline.
Pros
stress free enviroment
Cons
low compensation for non full time employees
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Youngstown State University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 67 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0

Youngstown State University Reviews by Location