Find companies:
Youth Advocate Program
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
31 reviews

Youth Advocate Program Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management and Culture, a trade off for having a flexible schedule
Assistant Director (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAAugust 18, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: benefits, management, and job culture, lack of trust
This place would be nice if it had a fair and strong leader. If you lack intergrity morals and work ethic apply...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better compensation needed.
Therapeutic Mental Health Specialist (Former Employee), North Charleston, S.C.June 26, 2014
Pros: youth enrichment.
Cons: compensation.
Refer above; for amount and quality of work supplied, compensation is nothing short of insulting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Social Work Intern (Former Employee), Vineland, NJMay 29, 2014
I liked my placement with the Youth Advocate Program, however it was not as hands on as I would have liked for it to be.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarding job
Behavior Specialist (Former Employee), Greenville, SCMay 18, 2014
rewarding job
not many co-workers
hardest part- seeing unfortunate children
most enjoyable part- making a difference in the lives of a child daily
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mentored as 3rd party
Mentor (Current Employee), Moss Point, MSApril 21, 2014
Pros: loved the job, enjoy giving back and making a difference where ever i can
Cons: no pay which altered how much time i could contibute
Mentored at risk teens, helped the develop realistic goals and positive plans for life. Program has dissolved due to lack of funding, currently attempting to introduce a similar program to Jackson County
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Receptionist/Admin Asst (Former Employee), Newark, NJApril 7, 2014
YAP was a great company to work for. The regional management was good. The work load was consistent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Mentor/Behavioral Assistant (Former Employee), East Orange, NJApril 7, 2014
Pros: flexible
Cons: pay
Working with the children and families was the most rewarding. The organization could use more organization and structure for the workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starter job
Therapeutic Support Staff (Former Employee), Erie, PAMarch 19, 2014
Pros: different clients and enviorements
Cons: varying schedule
You have to work around clients schedule so its hard to plan any personal events because your schedule can change at any time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GOOD
Community Living Specialist (Current Employee), Arlington. TXMarch 7, 2014
I love working for this job because they are nice and very helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working at SODAT
Administrative Manager (Former Employee), West Deptford, NJJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: creating gift baskets for the parenting classes
Cons: no health care offered
SODAT had a very upbeat environment. Even though we worked with drug addicted teenagers, I worked with a great group of compassionate therapists who stood by them through what they went through on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Therapeutic Staff Support (Former Employee), Franklin, PAOctober 16, 2013
Pros: same as above...
Cons: not enough hours to make a living...
Management was awesome and made you feel important. They always remembered Birthday's and gave you some sort of yummie candies on pay-day.. A typical day is the same as above.. Co-workers were good and everyone worked together as a team during monthy meetings in training. The most enjoyable was working with children and making each day brighter for – more... them.. TSS help complete goal and to help them bocome a better person by working with families in the home.. The hardest part of this job was getting your paperwork completed due to a lot of documenting and organization.. The hours were bad and not enough to support yourself.. I love being a TSS and helping children. I am looking for much more stability.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Therapeutic Staff Support (TSS) (Current Employee), Peckville, PASeptember 3, 2013
The hardest part of my job is having to work on the behaviors of children who are not your own. It is difficult to step up to the plate and change these behaviors. However, this job is so rewarding when you develop a connection with the client and are able to witness any positive behavioral changes--big or small.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful co Workers
Therapeutic Staff Support (Former Employee), Montrose, PAJuly 25, 2013
The program is a wonderful program for families that no other option to help their child make better decisions in their behavior.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
YAP
Behavioral Health Coordinator (Current Employee), Martinsburg, WVJune 14, 2013
I complete service authorizations to ensure that the agency will continue to get paid for services. I keep all tracking forms up to date. I meet with staff to review cases with them and help problem solve any areas they may be struggling in. I complete counseling with client individually in the home or in the office.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and well organized place to work
Advocate (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMay 31, 2013
I enjoyed working for this company because I got to work with the youth and help them see a better way of living their life. I loved working in a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
giving back
Paraprofessional (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCApril 8, 2013
Pros: flexible
Cons: always on high alert
Typical day at work consisted of helping young boys become men
Learned not to judge a book by its cover
Management was hardworking
Co-worker.... Focused on saving the future
Hardest part of the job was trying to help someone who didn't want to be helped
Most enjoyable part was to see these young men go to college or the military and not prison
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place, very stressful work.
Therapeutic Staff Support (Former Employee), Gettysburg, PAApril 6, 2013
Pros: helping students do achieve.
Cons: sometimes it seem you are not helping these students.
Co-workers are great.
Hard work getting the students to cooperate.
Enjoy seeing the outcome of these students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is an amazing feeling to help kids in need.
Advocate (Current Employee), Malone, NYFebruary 11, 2013
Pros: for the most part you can make your own hours
Cons: no advancement
I really enjoy working with the kids with everything they need, every child should have someone if needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Case management of high risk youth and their families.
Therapist (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJanuary 23, 2013
Pros: problem solving with clients.
Cons: covering large territories.
Enjoyed working with adolescents and their families. Writing weekly reports in a timely manner. Finding community support programs as needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day working fast food.
Youth Counselor (Former Employee), Chicago, ILDecember 11, 2012
Pros: free lunch
The hours were good. After I clock in to work there is always something needed to be done. Co-workers assisted me whenever I was in adversity with getting something achieved. I learned that when you and your co-workers work as a team, it becomes less stressful and gets things done faster. The hardest part of the job was being able to move up to a higher – more... position such as a manager or supervisor. I enjoyed the environment of working here because there was always something new everyday. – less