Find companies:
Youth Advocate Programs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
11 reviews

Youth Advocate Programs Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nothing
Youth Advocate (Former Employee), Mobile, ALMay 10, 2014
Pros: great patients
Cons: can do better
I have nothing to say. It was a great company for kids. Great co workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with which make it enjoyable
Job Coach (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVApril 9, 2014
I really enjoy helping youth to become productive members of society .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun, rewarding place to work.
Administrative Assistant/ Youth Advocate (Former Employee), Everett, PAJanuary 22, 2014
Youth Advocate Programs is a great place to work. You are given many opportunities to get involved in the community and help people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
YAP c does not respond to employees concerns.
Mobile Therapist, BSC (Former Employee), Harrisburg, PADecember 30, 2013
Cons: everything
My experience was pure chaos and an inability to perform job responsibilities or meaningfully lead a team by managers and clinical supervisors. Anyone who believes in social services and their independent ability to make a difference as an employee shouldn't even ponder this organization as a career choice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
behavioral heath job focused in autism
Therapeutic Staff Support (Former Employee), Lancaster, PAAugust 15, 2013
Pros: rewarding, relationship building, good experience in field, sometimes very easy like playing with client, decent pay, good supervisors, hard to get fired, good morals at company
Cons: paperwork, tough clients or families, lack of hours in the summer, clients not fulfilling hours, hours can get caught if client is doing better, politics with schools or families, no benefits, no moving up, hard to not take work home
I got hired right out of college and didn't need prior experience in field, just my degree. The training is great and you learn so much about autism at this job and jobs in the human service field. Job is working mostly with school-aged children, so if you don't like kids or don't have much patience this job probably isn't right for you. I loved working – more... with the clients and helping them communicate and act more appropriate. The problem was getting everybody else (families, schools, etc...) on board with my job and getting respect. Another huge problem was your hours can get cut at any time b/c your client has medical problems, family doesn't want to participate anymore, government doesn't approve hours, school ends in summer etc...In the summer I had to get another job to afford my bills. While it does pay decent $15 an hour with client, all the meetings and paperwork are only allowed to be billed at minimum wage and they can't hire full-time. Also, you really can't move up without getting your masters. Sometimes you can have extremely stressful clients or situations. Luckily, they will work with you and I actually had to drop a very aggressive client because of safety issues. This job is very rewarding intrinsically, but comes with a lot of stress as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive very nice place to work
PROGRAM MANAGER (Former Employee), Harrisburg, PAMarch 21, 2013
Logging advocates hours, verifying work hours were completed. Auditing advocates hours,processed payroll. I learned how the program helped youths to stay out of trouble. Co-workers cared about the youths. The hardest part of the job was learning about some of situations some of the youth went through. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting some – more... the youths in the program. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
Therapeutic Staff Support (Current Employee), Harrisburg, PAOctober 13, 2012
Pros: i enjoyed working with both the school staff and the familes of those i serviced
Cons: thier is no health care, vacation time, or any other benifits at my current job
Almost everyday during the week I go to a school that my client attend. While at the school I worked with my client in everyday struggles that they faced. I transferred skills to both thier teachers, parents, peers and themselfs to help cope with the behavioral issue. I worked with them to help meet thier goals that were outlined in the treatment plan. – more... I also worked with the indivduals I serviced in the home and community settings as well as at the school. I found the most rewarding part of my current job is the day to day progress these individuals make. The most difficult part of my current job is seeing the stuggles my clients face at times. The rewards of helping these individuals is what keeps me going daily. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super
Therapeutic Staff Support (Current Employee), Reading, PASeptember 11, 2012
Excellent experience. Great people, great mission. Only complaint, really, is the pay. Variable hours can be tricky at times too.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place to Work. Family type Enviornment
Youth Advocate (Former Employee), Savannah, GAAugust 7, 2012
Pros: salary per hour, activities for the clients benefits
Cons: clients not showing for sessions reflects your pay.
The Program Director assigns you to a client and you help that client to make improvements and adjustments to his/her life. Helping with GED enrollment, Finding a job and other life skills.

The Program Director is a very kind heart-ed person who takes a personal interest in the staff as well as the clients and partnerships.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work when you have a love for helping others.
Administrative Manager (Current Employee), Newark, NJAugust 2, 2012
Pros: flexibility with my schedule.
Cons: salary and no room for growth.
If you love working with ppl and for ppl this is the place to be. It's the best feeling ever. Working with DYFS related cases and Foster Care system you must have a big heart.

My day to day is extremely repetitive. My role has made my administrative/ hr background stronger. As a manager in this capacity I have been able to create long lasting relationships – more... with both my peers and subordinates. – less