Find companies:
Youth Policy Institute
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
30 reviews

Youth Policy Institute Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helpful and friendly atmosphere
After School Aide (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 21, 2015
The people here were really friendly and they even helped me open a bank account. Hours were flexible and they really helped those in school work around their time restrictions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place, enjoyable
Administrative assistant/tutor (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 19, 2015
Pros: long lunch breaks, play with children, free work schedule
Cons: no cons
Do office input for staffs, serve food for children and be a tutor.
I've learned that working with children is a blessing.
Hardest part of my job was dealing with the new children or children who were misbehaved.
Enjoyable part of this job was bonding with children and helping them build a positive view of their future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sports tutor
Athletic Instructor (Current Employee), Pacoima, CAFebruary 12, 2015
Pros: fun job
Cons: hard to move up in the company
Working in the community is always what I enjoy doing and helping people. I ran sports and martial arts program and enjoy working with the group of kids that I work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace to work
Office Clerk (Current Employee), Pacoima, CAFebruary 9, 2015
It was a job place to work where I learned so many things. Also all the staff support me since day one and taught me how to handle hard situation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great non-profit to work for
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Pacoima, CADecember 9, 2014
Manage front office, answer phones, greet clients and schedule appointments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Have a lot of patience
AS Tutor (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CANovember 24, 2014
The kids are great, the other tutors and site coordinators are great, but this program lacks organization for all the things they try to throw at you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very engaged and helpful with youth participants
Summer Youth Placement Coordinator (Current Employee), Pacoima, CANovember 17, 2014
The staff is really helpful and look forward to helping the participants
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers
Former employee (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CANovember 7, 2014
Pros: co-workers, services provided to community members.
All depends on what department you work for. Direct service employees are the best to work with!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very awesome organization
Site Coordinator (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAOctober 26, 2014
Great Place to work at
Powerful leadership
great empowerment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tutoring
NCLB Tutor (Former Employee), Pacoima, CAAugust 16, 2014
Challenging work, I enjoyed creating lesson plans, lots of driving around and meeting with students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people
Site Coordinator (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAAugust 8, 2014
Pros: close to home
Cons: n/a
short time here, but it's a program that provides amazing services for those who are most in need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work Pace
Teacher Assistant (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 17, 2014
Pros: the work and relationships built
Cons: travel
I love the work and the work environment! Providing a good enviorment for children to learn better and grow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational, productive and friendly workplace
Assistant (Former Employee), Pacoima, CAJuly 15, 2014
It was smooth, I learned how to use a copy machine and how to balance a budget. The management was there to help when I needed it. The co-workers where all nice and friendly. The hardest part of the job was helping the maintenance man with thing I knew nothing about. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to get to know everyone and there backrounds.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and gave me a new experiences
Paid internship (Former Employee), Sanfernando CaMarch 13, 2014
Pros: i got paid every 2 weeks
Cons: making calls to people that never answered
my typical day at work would have to have been when i was making copyies the copier machine went out of order no one could figure out how to fix it until i unpluged the whole copier machine and made it work again. at youth policy institute i learned how to deal with clients, and communication skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent work with flexible hours
Tutor (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CADecember 30, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: tedious paperwork
I would travel from house to house to tutor students assigned to me. I would schedule the sessions and monitor their progress.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and productive environment
Host workshops (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CADecember 17, 2013
Pros: great customer service
Here at YPI, most days consisted of office work for me. My routine was mostly of coming in, checking in and then ask my supervisor about my tasks for the day. Some of the skills I learned while working was the demand of organizations and keeping track of files. Plus my co-workers were all women, so they were all super nice with me and fun. Nothing was hard about working here just having the patiences of managing the work. Therefore, the most enjoyable part of working was the environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very loyal, busy and productive always friendly
Intern supporting The Heart Project (Former Employee), Hollywood, CASeptember 9, 2013
Pros: conducting events, attending fundraisers, speaking to big crowds
Cons: internship only had 100 hours
i had to make phone calls, help plan events give my opinions and assist the manger to greetings and other fundraiser. perform and speak in front of numerous people. worked with kids and adults create power points and set up videos for previous events always organized.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, Challanging, fast paced
Tutor/Yearbook Teacher (Current Employee), Los Angeles CAAugust 7, 2013
Cons: no healthcare
I was able to change lives not only with my students but also with my fellow staff. I was able to be myself and voice my feelings/ opinions about things that I felt affected me or my team. The best part was being able to watch my students graduate. the worst part was having to let them go.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked
Regional Supervisor (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 31, 2013
Pros: decent benefits. great coworkers
Cons: priorities not set properly
While working, we had a sense a pride because YPI is a non profit, however, things changed the longer I worked there. It seemed as though everything we did was for a profit, often at the expense of our students. Management was not willing to listen to our suggestions, even though we often felt that we were not as productive as possible. In the end, the company decided to subcontract (to the company with the worst reputation). This was disheartening because we would pride ourselves in being different, and in the end, YPI sold out to the highest bidder.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment when working with kids.
Tutor (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMay 29, 2013
Pros: fun, air conditioned rooms, got me to be more active.
Worked weekdays for about 7 hours per day. Very fun activities that was set up for the kids. There was also fun events for "fun days". I loved working with the co-workers there.