Find companies:
Youth Policy Institute
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
20 reviews

Youth Policy Institute Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people
Site Coordinator (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAAugust 8, 2014
Pros: close to home
Cons: n/a
short time here, but it's a program that provides amazing services for those who are most in need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work Pace
Teacher Assistant (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 17, 2014
Pros: the work and relationships built
Cons: travel
I love the work and the work environment! Providing a good enviorment for children to learn better and grow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational, productive and friendly workplace
Assistant (Former Employee), Pacoima, CAJuly 15, 2014
It was smooth, I learned how to use a copy machine and how to balance a budget. The management was there to help when I needed it. The co-workers where all nice and friendly. The hardest part of the job was helping the maintenance man with thing I knew nothing about. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to get to know everyone and there – more... backrounds. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and gave me a new experiences
Paid internship (Former Employee), Sanfernando CaMarch 13, 2014
Pros: i got paid every 2 weeks
Cons: making calls to people that never answered
my typical day at work would have to have been when i was making copyies the copier machine went out of order no one could figure out how to fix it until i unpluged the whole copier machine and made it work again. at youth policy institute i learned how to deal with clients, and communication skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent work with flexible hours
Tutor (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CADecember 30, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: tedious paperwork
I would travel from house to house to tutor students assigned to me. I would schedule the sessions and monitor their progress.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and productive environment
Host workshops (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CADecember 17, 2013
Pros: great customer service
Here at YPI, most days consisted of office work for me. My routine was mostly of coming in, checking in and then ask my supervisor about my tasks for the day. Some of the skills I learned while working was the demand of organizations and keeping track of files. Plus my co-workers were all women, so they were all super nice with me and fun. Nothing was – more... hard about working here just having the patiences of managing the work. Therefore, the most enjoyable part of working was the environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very loyal, busy and productive always friendly
Intern supporting The Heart Project (Former Employee), Hollywood, CASeptember 9, 2013
Pros: conducting events, attending fundraisers, speaking to big crowds
Cons: internship only had 100 hours
i had to make phone calls, help plan events give my opinions and assist the manger to greetings and other fundraiser. perform and speak in front of numerous people. worked with kids and adults create power points and set up videos for previous events always organized.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, Challanging, fast paced
Tutor/Yearbook Teacher (Current Employee), Los Angeles CAAugust 7, 2013
Cons: no healthcare
I was able to change lives not only with my students but also with my fellow staff. I was able to be myself and voice my feelings/ opinions about things that I felt affected me or my team. The best part was being able to watch my students graduate. the worst part was having to let them go.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked
Regional Supervisor (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 31, 2013
Pros: decent benefits. great coworkers
Cons: priorities not set properly
While working, we had a sense a pride because YPI is a non profit, however, things changed the longer I worked there. It seemed as though everything we did was for a profit, often at the expense of our students. Management was not willing to listen to our suggestions, even though we often felt that we were not as productive as possible. In the end, – more... the company decided to subcontract (to the company with the worst reputation). This was disheartening because we would pride ourselves in being different, and in the end, YPI sold out to the highest bidder. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment when working with kids.
Tutor (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMay 29, 2013
Pros: fun, air conditioned rooms, got me to be more active.
Worked weekdays for about 7 hours per day. Very fun activities that was set up for the kids. There was also fun events for "fun days". I loved working with the co-workers there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For an intership.. ITS AWESOME
Clerical Assistant (Current Employee), Los AngelesMay 25, 2013
Pros: awesome people, nice & move up
Cons: take advantage of interns
I had a great supervisor! They're super flexible with you if you are a student. I learned a lot of valuable things in my time there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of kids
Assisting students (Former Employee), Pacoima, CAJanuary 22, 2013
i had an amazing time working with kids. that is what my made my day so joyfull working there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Will pay for you to attend their trainnings, this company believes in investing in their employees.
Lead Tutor (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CASeptember 12, 2012
Pros: lots of trainings
Cons: part time hours for tutors
A typical day at work can be hectic, but rewarding. I have learned so much from this job, like how to effectively manage a classroom, how to deal with emergency situations or behavioral issues, and how to successfully run an after school program. I also learned valuable management skills by being a leader and guiding newer tutors as they learn their – more... way. The hardest part of the job is having to work odd hours during the day. The most enjoyable part of the job is helping students learn and seeing their "ah hah" moments, when you can tell they learned something new. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to feel free to access any of your accounts or view stories online.
Assisting instructor (Former Employee), Pacoima, CaliforniaAugust 27, 2012
Assisting instructor-lead classes (Intro to Technology, how to use a computer, bringing internet back to your home). Through computers, signing up walk-ins to classes. Assisted those who needed help accessing certain information on MAC computers. Resetting iPads, installing memory and adding Wi-Fi units into PC computers, refurbishing computers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NON-PROFIT WITH STRONG CUMMUNITY VALLUES
In-Home Tutor/Mentor (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJune 29, 2012
I LEARNED A LOT ABOUT THE LATINO COMMUNITY AND IT'S CURRENT SOCIO-POLITICAL SITUATION IN SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA. YPI ADDRESSES LITERACTY AND JOB TRAINING AS WELL AS COMMUNITY INVOLVEMENT. IT WAS A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good place to work.
HR/Coordinator/Employee Relations (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJune 14, 2012
Pros: family type environment
Cons: non profit, so job security is dependant on grants
Great Mission and goals. Unfortunately being a Non Profit money is always tight and job security depends on grants.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Academic Skills Development Tutor (K-12) (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAApril 17, 2012
Pros: free training
Cons: i can't think of any
Management was available, if I had any concerns.

Through the training, I learned valuable skills for tutoring phonics, and reading comprehension.

The hardest part of the job was keeping students motivated.

The most enjoyable part of the job was watching their test scores increase.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging workplace with opportunity for growth.
Payroll Clerk (Current Employee), Los AngelesFebruary 28, 2012
YPI is a challenging work place due to the amount of supporting staff with the size of the company. But is very rewarding with the results that you can provide for the company with growth in experience and education.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to develop organization and work ethics
Student Employee (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CADecember 9, 2011
Learned how to be responsible and to be interactive with others.