Find companies:
Youth Villages
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
151 reviews

Youth Villages Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
When they say they are positive company...believe me..they will beat you over the head with it!!
Senior Intervention Specialist (Former Employee), IndianaDecember 29, 2013
Pros: supportive co-workers who attempt to take care of each other, consutants provide great clinical knowledge.
Cons: yv is an orginazation believes strongly in micromanagment, employees are never allowed to make any decisions, no time off, unrealistic work schedules, at least 15 hours of paperwork each week, 6 1/2 hours of training or meeting each week
I loved working with the families that we support and providing great services to those families. Unfortunately, it comes at the cost of our own family and our outside life. I typicaly worked 55-60 hours each week and my paperwork was always on time. I left the orginazation on good terms and consider many of the current employees friends. What you will – more... quickly learn and will be told in training is "you can never be negative." If you question, disagree, need to vent or simply having a bad day then you had better not come in contact with any managment. In the office I worked in we were discouraged from talking to each other outside of the office. I made a statement during a meeting that I had been with YV for a year and it had been a difficult year in our area." I really didnt think anything about it other than meaning our area had went through growing pains where we had a dysfunctional supervisor who was finally fired and that we had been under staffed most of the time. I was brought in by my supervisior and "given the talk" about my negative attitude and that senior managment took my remark as a threat to quit. That was the moment that I decided that YV was not a company that I wanted to work for. YV clinical program is sound and I learned alot while I was there. I just wished the managment cared for their employees and allowed us to have a more balanced life. At times I was oncall every other weekend and every night during the week. When I was interviewed I was told the oncall was for emergencies but most weekends you are supervising family visits, transporting kids, checking on familys and doing home visits. When you work on weekend you do not get to flex those hours off or get paid for them. The weeks that I was oncall I would often work 12 days before I would get a day off and would average 120 hours during those 12 days. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gave me clinical experience
Residential Counselor (Former Employee), Memphis, TNDecember 13, 2013
Youth Villages is a great organization for young adults who do not have a personal family of their own. I was able to gain my clinical experience through them but other than that I don't have much to say.

Hardest part of the job was putting in 12 hour days, and then having 2-3 hours of documentation to do when you returned home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours and lots of driving
Family Counselor (Former Employee), Huntsville, ALNovember 19, 2013
This job was very difficult due to the fact that you spend most of your day in the car. There was lots of driving involved as it is a home based counseling agency. Often times I would have to drive to very rural areas where no cell phone coverage was possible and I felt uncomfortable at times, especially if it was later in the evening and I was alone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding and impactful work with needy youth.
Transitional Living Specialist (Former Employee), Memphis,TNNovember 19, 2013
As a transitional living specialist, a typical day consisted having several sessions in the community with young adults. These sessions consisted of assisting these youth with increasing their knowledge of community resources and independent living skills. I was able to assist these youth with things such as registration for post-secondary education – more... and employment seeking. Additional tasks that I completed included attending treatment team meetings in addition to medical record documentation and data entry.

Management consisted of a clinical supervisor, clinical consultant, and regional supervisor. Clinical protocols and specific cases were reviewed by management staff on a weekly basis. Management was also available to answer any questions regarding specific clients or policies. Additionally, my co-workers were very supportive in processing common stressors associated with my position.

The most difficult part of this job directly coincided with the most enjoyable part, and pertained to the scheduling. I was able to set my own schedule on a weekly basis regarding client sessions. The downside of this was being at the mercy of these clients, as sessions were cancelled and rescheduled quite often. This made it difficult to complete paperwork, and there were many instances where i was working roughly 50 hours per week while attending school during the evening. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRTF
Teacher Counselor (Former Employee), Douglasville, GANovember 12, 2013
worked with at risk youth in a residential setting
great management
hard 16 hour shift on weekends
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I Have Learned
Behavioral Youth Counselor (Former Employee), Memphis, TNOctober 29, 2013
The company has a great culture centered around building success for the youth, You learn a lot about working with different behaviors and leadership in the company. The hours are strenuous and it can be hard to do anything else besides work. The paperwork is heavy. You can advance quickly but must be willing to show your capabilities. Co-workers may – more... have been there for years or only weeks and some always complain. The job is stressful yet rewarding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive co-workers
Family Intervention Specialist (Current Employee), Woburn, MAOctober 22, 2013
Everyone in the office is willing to help and answer questions. My supervisior is very flexible and allows for growth in my career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Will Not Support staff in times of need
Clinical Supervisor (Former Employee), MSOctober 22, 2013
Pros: experience is great
Cons: long work hours and not enough pay.
Youth Villages is not a good company to work for. The hours are long and pay is not competative. The company does not value employess and does not invest without wanting contracts signed in return.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful mission but a toxic company
Family Intervention Specialist (Current Employee), IndianaOctober 15, 2013
Pros: watching your families grow
Cons: toxic culture, poor management, long hours
I took this job right out of graduate school. To be clear, I certainly never entered the field of mental health with the expectation that I would work a neat 40 hours a week or that the work would be easy. I write all of this as an employee in good standing with both my office and the company...

However, I would strongly caution anyone who is considering – more... employment with this company. There are many things, first licensed supervision is not free. They will tell you this, but what they'll forget to tell you is that you must sign a contract that states you will work for the company for two years after your final supervision session. If you don't, you will owe the company all of that money back. Yes. That's not an uncommon practice but there are good reasons they hide it. Also, any other supervision you receive in-house will be from individuals who aren't really clinicians or are far more interested in the timeliness of your paperwork rather than the work you to with your families.

Next, you will not have a life outside of work. It won't be possible. Your actual hours per week will be closer to the 55-65 hour range if you really want to keep current with all of your paperwork. There has been one week where it was pushing 70. I'm not slow at my work either and I'm not a procrastinator, the lower end of that scale encompasses the weeks where I've had quite enough and am speeding along as fast as possible. Also, should you take a job with this company, don't let them know when you've finished your work for the week. They punish good and expedient work by giving you even more work, or forcing you to help the supervisor's favorite do his or her work.

They will not care that you've already worked 12-13 hours. Oh, and attempting to create a respectful and healthful work-life balance by engaging in discussion with your boss will not only go unheeded it will also be punished. A colleague of mind attempted this after their work-week kept pushing 60+ hours and they punished this person by sending them out on as many long days as they could (sometimes 16-hour days due to driving) to test this colleague's commitment to the company.

Which brings us to another point: the culture of Youth Villages is deeply toxic. Their mission is good, I wholeheartedly believe in the mission of helping kids and families but make no mistake, behind that facade is an almost cult-like mentality. Having a very difficult day? Having trouble with an exceptionally hostile client? Don't mention it out loud. The supervisor will invalidate you by forcing you to state positive things about the family. This hasn't happened to me but I've witnessed it many times. Feeling run down? Hide it. You will quickly become black-listed in office politics which means you will inevitably be the one to be on call at the worst times (holidays) or the first person who has additional paperwork pushed off on them. As I said before, I've seen it happen.

Oh, and when they do their yearly fundraiser, in which they ask you to donate a portion of your income back to the company, not giving them .5% to 3% of your earnings is also a good way to become socially ostracized.

Take this job if you need it, but don't delude yourself into thinking of YV as a long-term option. I've read most of the reviews on here for this company and I can't help but notice that many of the good reviews are from out-of-touch management attempting to salvage the company's image on here or from individuals who have never held a legitimate clinical job with YV. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Clinical Supervisor (Current Employee), Woburn, MAOctober 11, 2013
Pros: hard working entry level staff
Cons: horrible culture, upper management has little to no clinical expertise, though are in charge of directing treatment of at risk youth.
Difficult to manage work and family life. expected to work 60-70 hours every week, and as a supervisor to work at least one weekend each month. Supervisory positions are promoted only from within, which is great for current staff, but does not allow for any outside influences. The staff that work at YV are usually in their first professional jobs, and – more... therefore have little "real world" experience, which means all upper level management also has limited "real world" experience. All of this is to the detriment of the young people this agency serves. When you are hired, they offer extensive supervision and consultation with professional staff, though the staff providing these are not always professionals, often they are para-professionals. The supervision that is provided is not generally directed towards growth as a clinician, rather it is focused on need areas related to paperwork timeliness. The agency itself has some great values, and terrific individuals working for them (in other states), however YV New England is a pit, where new graduates go to gain experience to put on resumes before leaving for better jobs. New hire orientation is held bi-weekly as so many individuals start working at this agency and leave quickly due to the politics, and lack of support. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work environment
Intercept Counselor (Current Employee), Morristown, TNOctober 9, 2013
Pros: team work
Cons: travel
Each day is different and one must always be ready for change. So, it takes a flexible person to be able to perform this job well. My co-workers are great people and I will always be friends with each of them. I've learned that I love working with families and helping people improve their lives. Youth Villages provided me the opportunity to do just – more... that. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Youth Villages
Family Intervention Specialist (Current Employee), Waynesvill, NCOctober 4, 2013
Pros: salary and benfits
Cons: on call crisis services
A typical work day is full of face to face sessions with clients, meetings to discuss case load, and documentation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This organization is highly committed to its mission and values and has become a force nation-wide for the mental health care of children.
District Manager, MST (Current Employee), Washington, DCSeptember 30, 2013
Pros: culture; ability to advance internally
Cons: limited opportunity in dc program
I began my career with Youth Villages after completing my undergraduate program in 2006. In this time, I have had supportive relationships that helped identify my strengths and position me for advancement. In addition to the invaluable relationships I have established, the culture of Youth Villages has contributed to my tenure with the organization. – more... I have learned that trust is important with internal and external customers and that data should drive intervention.

My job primarily consists of overseeing and providing support to my staff in the implementation of the treatment model and meeting contract requirements of the District of Columbia’s Department of Mental Health. I develop processes, write policies, recruit and hire new staff, train and develop current staff, establish and foster relationships with referral sources, and oversee all other operational aspects of the program.

The job of Program Manager offers many areas of gratification, but I will highlight the training and development of staff and time spent with external stakeholders as the components I enjoy most. I have grown to greatly enjoy helping others realize their strengths bother personally and professionally and develop and provide tools that help facilitate growth in need areas. Another passion is the actual service we provide to our families. Youth Villages’ DC operation provides a treatment model that helps sustain families and prevent kids from entering the social or juvenile justice systems. Because of this passion, I enjoy and am skilled at sharing this message with external stakeholders and customers which in turn helps facilitate the growth of the program. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work for this company.
Program Manager (Former Employee), Memphis, TNSeptember 15, 2013
There is a buddy system in terms of advancement.It is not a good place to work. You are expected to have long hours and very little home life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is dedicated to helping families.
MYPAC Primary Service Coordinator Supervisor (Former Employee), Hattiesburg, MSSeptember 11, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: home life balance
Company believes in keeping children in the home rather than in residential setting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What did i learn
Counselor (Former Employee), Douglasville, GASeptember 9, 2013
Pros: food nasty
nothing!!!! The management was horrible... There was no structure
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding Job
Intercept Family Counselor (Former Employee), Nashville, TNSeptember 9, 2013
Youth Villages is a wonderful place to work allowing you to gain experience in all areas of counseling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Working Team of Passionate People
Specialized Crisis Counselor (Current Employee), Memphis, TNSeptember 8, 2013
Pros: great benefits, mileage, great experience
Cons: low salary, unpredictable schedule
There is no typical day of work for me as a crisis counselor. My hours may be from 6am-4pm or 8p-6am and I may complete assessments at psychiatric hospitals or homes. I have learned a great deal about mental health diagnoses and mental health treatment and have learned that I definitely want to pursue clinical social work. My co workers are like family – more... and they are all very hard working and passionate about what they do. The hardest part of the job is the unconventional schedule and the unpaid overtime. I have greatly enjoyed working with at risk kids and with people who can teach me valuable things to enhance my professional life on a daily basisi. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cheerleading at it's best
Instructor Have (Former Employee), Memphis, TNAugust 26, 2013
Pros: good pay, great co workers, wonderful summer job
Cons: traveling can get tiring
As an Instructor for UCA I taught and trained hundreds of cheer squads. Start the day with breakfast. We taught cheers, chants, dances and team building skills/ My co-workers were awesome and lovely to be around. Hardest part of my job was traveling via car to every camp. It got very tiring. Best part of my job is interacting with the teams and coaches – more... giving them knowledge that they can use. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overwhelming job expectations, low support, out of touch management
Family Intervention Specialist (Current Employee), Nashville, TNAugust 25, 2013
Pros: varied experience, will build skills
Cons: long hours, difficult work environment
Job expectations, including daily hours and caseload, was often unmanageable unless you really want to work twelve plus hours daily. Management was generally unsupportive and out of touch, placing emphasis on "being positive" rather than being realistic in terms of families' needs and what is feasible to accomplish with clients. Travel could be up to – more... two hundred miles of driving a day, and working weekends and nights often occurred. The experience was great, but it's not a place to stay long term unless you are exceptionally good at playing the political games required to advance into management. – less

About Youth Villages

Youth Villages has spent 25 years pioneering an approach that is measurably better for children and their families and provides – Read more