Find companies:
YRC Freight
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
94 reviews

YRC Freight Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Location 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
on call
Dock Worker/Forklift Operator (Former Employee), McKees Rocks, PAJuly 22, 2014
was promised after 2 years at the job I would get a bid and full time position.. 2 years go by and I never got my full time. pay was alright the crew I worked with was easy to get along with. good company to work for if they would keep their promises
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
css (Former Employee), iowaJuly 21, 2014
Pros: some great people to work with
Cons: several things listed above
Work and home life was not balanced. Expected way too much for way too little. No respect of employees and policy could change at any time... for any person. No consistancy. Even after being there for years, tenure no longer mattered. You were only a number. Drama all over the work place...constantly questioned what were u doing and why did you do this?. – more... Very stressful work environment. Definitely too many chiefs not enough indians!! HIRE MORE STAFF and maybe management can take a loss in wages for once . Then, maybe freight will get delivered ontime and in one piece. Yrc..u cannot have it all....treat your employees better and they will perform better for u..its that simple – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, high volume shipping company
Part-time Dock Worker (Current Employee), Bolingbrook, ILJuly 7, 2014
Pros: relaxed atmosphere and definded job requirements
Cons: adverse weather conditionals hinders job performance, no medical benefits
It is a typical freight environment with a constant flow of incoming of trucks. After receiving a dock door assignment, I unload (strip) the trucked docked using appropriate equipment and place it in assigned location for storage or pickup. It is a fast pace company with seventy operational loading docks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough place to work
Dock Supervisor (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJune 27, 2014
Pros: the professionals both salaried and union are the best in the business
Cons: many
You are well paid and the benefits are solid. The people that are salaried are for the most part honest, hard working and competent. The company is manned by a Union labor pool so the top workers are the best in the business and should be commended. The problem with a Union labor pool is the "30 day wonders". These guys work like the dickens to get – more... the job and spend the rest of their careers hiding, talking, making excuses, causing trouble, gossiping, extending their breaks, being disrespectful and doing little to nothing of value. They pretend they are making some political statement but the hypocrisy in that is so thick you could cut it with a knife. The Union would be doing themselves a favor if they self-policed the non performers but I don't see that happening. I liked and respected many of the people I worked with. Some, I found deplorable simply because they were stealing in my opinion every time they signed their pay check. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor equipment, most of it is unsafe.
Tractor Trailer Driver (Current Employee), Copley, OHJune 20, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: favoritism is high toward their own( yellow employees). eqipment is poor, cant do the speed limits in any state while driving on interstates.
Nothing good about this company since the two companies merged.Roadway was a good company, Yellow sucked and they still do!! They have ruined this company just like they did their own before Roadway bailed them out, and they still may go under. Equipment is not safe and falling apart, only patchwork repairs are made, we gave up 15% pay and vacations – more... and they have done nothing to make our jobs less stressful!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
STAY AWAY!
General Office Clerk (Former Employee), Hamilton, NJJune 2, 2014
Pros: union
Very unorganized place. Took the job and was never given a permanent shift to work on. Would find out on friday what shift i was working the next week. I wasnt given a desk for 2 weeks and had no phone to use at desk.

No dress code makes it feel veryy unprofessional.
30 min lunch plus two 5 min breaks (unless you smoke it seems like you can take a – more... break whenever you want) Other workers had ash trays on there desk with half burnt cigars in them. Nothing but a bush or old uneducated people working in the office. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always professional
Dispatcher (Current Employee), Pico RiveraMay 31, 2014
Pros: freedom to make decisions
Cons: not much time to eat lunch, always on the move
The hardest part of the job is the challenging and aggressive service times. Always pushing for improvement and maximizing efficiencies is like a chess game. Every day there are new challenges and new strategy to get through the day and week. Co workers have an internal drive to succeed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Inbound Shift Dock Supervisor (Current Employee), BaltimoreMay 3, 2014
Loved my job here....made life long friends....would not trade my experiences here for anything in the world
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i guess
Manifest Clerk (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCApril 21, 2014
its a job that pays.....if nothing else bills can be payed. it is union so there is job security. But things could be better
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
15%give back no raises, took 2weeks vac away, no pto,reduced breaks
fool (Current Employee), BurnsvilleApril 20, 2014
Cons: 15% give back, no vac, no pto, no room for advancement, management sucks
S uxs working here, most looking to leave, management s u c s and doesn't give a rats a## about employees.... We were told by management if you don't like it leave.... We are! 15% give back 5yrs now 5 to go (told you won't get it back by management) no sick days (PTO) took away 2 weeks vacation, no overtime, filthy work conditions, no tool allowance, – more... losing benefits, pention reduced, find a better place,this place s u c s and won't be here much longer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good income potential
driver/dock/switcher (Former Employee), NCApril 13, 2014
Pros: good pay with insurence
Cons: bad morale. poor desisions by management is tearing this once great co. apart
28 years with roadway turned in my resume to another trucking co. Hired the next week. Dock work and switching very boring work. PnD ok change off scenery.Co workers were awesome as well as management.. Great insurance, vacation times offered better then most. However they are starting to take back fringe benefits and redistribute the wealth. The pay – more... was a lot better a few years ago. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people
Analyst (Current Employee), Overland Park, KSApril 6, 2014
the people make this job fun to do.
smart professionals
good leadership
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diffrent locations to see.
Over the Road Driver (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INMarch 30, 2014
Pros: great pay
Cons: not home with family enough
Drive from Indianoplis, Indiana to St.Paul, MN about three times a week. My day usally consist of a 11hrs driving. 635 miles to be exact.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for, solid reputation in the industry
Account Executive (Current Employee), Toledo, OHMarch 11, 2014
My experience with YRC Freight has been a positive one. The people I've met throughout my career have been kind, knowledgeable people who are dedicated to their work.
The company itself has gone through some challenging times, but has come out in a position to grow moving forward.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Admin (Current Employee), Overland Park, KSFebruary 27, 2014
Great group of people to work with. Management is great. Great benefit package but no matching 401K or pay raises in near future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a Job
City Driver / Dock Worker (Current Employee), Richfield, OhioFebruary 22, 2014
Pros: free healthcare/dental insurance
Cons: forced to work 10hr days mon-thurs. friday's are 12hr
No moving from Teamster to management. Degrees and work ethic do not seem to matter. Poor moral.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great job, but times have changed.
Warehouse Worker/Forklift Operator (Current Employee), San Bernardino, CAFebruary 2, 2014
Pros: great people i've worked with and exciting challanges
Cons: to many cut backs for us/no future.
This job was great. The economy changed and so did the company. We no longer have room for growth and have had a fifteen percent pay cut and lost a week vacation. New hires will have a lesser pay rate, and I feel the senior people will be weeded out. Time to move on. Have some great people I've met there and life long friends. Great people and we took – more... pride in our work. But the writing is on the wall. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Out With The Old; In With The New
Operations Supervisor / W& I Coordinator (Former Employee), Columbus, OHJanuary 29, 2014
Not a family friendly environment.
So short staffed that one missing person due to illness or family emergencies, it can be devastating to the operation.

Initially started out fun and exciting; however, coming into the company, the realization sets in that there is no advancement opportunities unless someone retires.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of responsibility for line supervisors
dock supervisor (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INJanuary 26, 2014
Pros: training, pay above average
Cons: unionized labor difficult to supervise and make the company uncompetitive.
Vested in training you, management has a in your face type of supervising style. Workforce is unionized, teamsters VERY DIFFICULT to work with. Outdated, archaic and just stupid Union rules regarding seniority. The company is very much in dire financial trouble, over a billion dollars, and probably will not survive the rest of this year. There are some – more... good, decent people here, who are frightened over possibly losing their jobs this year. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Diesel Mechanic (Current Employee), Maybrook, NYJanuary 22, 2014
Yrc freight is a place where no one bothers you, and you can get your work done.

1 2 3 4 5