Find companies:
YRC Worldwide Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
21 reviews

YRC Worldwide Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work in the beginning
Customer Solutions Coordinator (Former Employee), Overland Park, KSSeptember 23, 2014
Very busy. Learned every aspect of transportation. Co-workers were great. Unstable once they got in financial trouble.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Help Desk Analyst
Help Desk Specialist (Former Employee), Overland Park KsSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: learning different networks
Cons: layoffs
Good Company enjoyed the opportunity to learn different Internal systems
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate Collections
Corporate Revenue Specialist (Former Employee), Cheektowaga, NYAugust 30, 2014
Learned various aspects of freight terms, billing, collections, and intense customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n
SEMI TRUCK DRIVER (Former Employee), Houston, TXJune 17, 2014
• Transport freight from one terminal to the next in a
• Keep a running log that records their daily work tasks.
• Able to drive long distances and for extended periods of time.
• Ability to aid in the loading and unloading of freight that we transport.
• Coupling the tractor and trailer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Roadway was amazing but very disappointed with YRCW.
Customer Care Specialist (Former Employee), Allentown, PAMay 7, 2014
Pros: learning from their mistakes, i hope. they have a mix of yellow and roadway drivers and people at the terminals that are awesome.
Cons: trust is an issue for the employees and the customers due to their business track record.
When I started with Roadway Trucking, it was just awesome. Customers came first and competitors knew they were outmatched when Roadway came into any picture. However, when Yellow married Roadway, some terminals merged but many closed. Drivers lost out. Roadway then had call centers that personally touched every customer. They were the right arm of sales – more... and stormed the forefront of every challenge with great service. Every state had one or more call centers and multitudes of sales personnel who loved their customers and had great feedback. Then, Yellow also closed Roadways call center set up and YRCW only has a percentage who now serve the many customers. These closures were unexpected, to say the least, and I was in customer service at one of those call centers. A company who used to be first or second place in the world of logistics, changed their role and place in it dramatically in a very short period of time. Competitors have stepped up to take the business and I miss the ole' Roadway. It has been so sad to see YRC have such hard times. I hope YRC Worldwide, Inc. can climb back to the top. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Dock Supervisor (Former Employee), Maybrook, NYJanuary 1, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Not good at all. Bad working conditions. No room for advancement
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place! probably my favorite job ever as far as location, atmosphere, work, and co-workers. Management was memorable
Accounts Receivables Representative (Former Employee), Cheektowaga, NYDecember 20, 2013
I like how the company gave you goals to shoot for and had award shows for their employees. The only downfall was that they weren't flexible with scheduling and they weren't very understanding when you had appointments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a job
Driver / Dock (Current Employee), Santa AnaJuly 13, 2013
always on the run making deliveries and pick ups. during busy season. In the slow season no job security.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fortune 500 Transportation Company
Manager of Accounting - Accounts Payable (Current Employee), Overland Park, KSMay 5, 2013
Currently in turnaroud after recession. Profitability slowly returning as company gets its footing back.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good compensation, but little job security or advancement
Operation Support Specialist (Former Employee), Memphis, TNMarch 10, 2013
Typical day varied from day-to-day in a fast paced environment, which was great, but communication was bad. I split my time between recruiting, training, labor issues, and administrative duties. I learned many things there. I learned everything from EEOC to OSHA guidelines. There were several management changes, that caused some miscommunications. The – more... most difficult part of the job was getting time to train employees because the logistics industry is all about time. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with the staff and solving problems. I enjoyed the people that I worked with at YRC Worldwide. There was little opportunity for advancement and several layoffs. The company would have better market share if there was more communication between labor and management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work, never a lack of work
Senior Payroll Examiner (Former Employee), Akron, OHJanuary 6, 2013
Pros: flex work schedule
I was a hard worker and rarely missed work. I believe that management recognized this.
Most of my co-workers were hard working and easy to work with.
The hardest part of my job was meeting payroll deadlines when field employees did not handle their payroll responsibilities timely
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driver
Driver (Former Employee), Dallas txNovember 27, 2012
A typical day includes rout planning, daily logs, and driving for 8-10 hrs a day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work is good operating a forklift, loading and unloading cargo
Freight Associate (Current Employee), Tracy, CAOctober 19, 2012
Pros: benefits
Cons: on call
Moving freight to different location to city, inbound and outbound etc....
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thankful To Be Working And Learning
Outbound Operations Manager (Current Employee), Portland, ORSeptember 15, 2012
Pros: learning new skills and fine tuning my communication/management skills
Cons: no lunch or set breaks. work weekends, nights, 10-12 hour days, holidays and stressful situations.
Most of what I do comes down to really managing personalities. YRC is a union company, so juggling union bylaws, work agreements and individual personalities are obstacles I work through every day. In this job, someone's communication and leadership skills will make or break their success. Luckily, I have been very fortunate at YRC and moved in the – more... ranks fairly quickly due to my ability to communicate with the union.

More specific job daily duties would include managing work flow and assignments. Managing and assuring the work force are meeting daily production, safety, and load factor goals. In one 10 hour day, I will generally walk 8 miles as I venture the dock and check in with employees to ensure they have what they need or communicate further guidance on other assignments.

YRC is working on re-establishing themselves in the market place, with that said, there is a lot of pressure to meet rising goals. I welcome the challenge and feel the culture is turning around. This could quite possibly be the hardest part and most enjoyable part of the job. I want to see the company succeed, so day in and day out, I give it 110%. The flip side of that is communicating and encouraging the employees to buy into the fact that we can make a difference. The union employees have taken a 15% pay cut and no longer receive a contribution to their pension, so moral and belief in the company culture is down. What I've tried to bring to this job is synergy. Getting people to once again work together and believe everyone is on the same team, is where a lot of my efforts go.

YRC is undoubtedly in a questionable state to whether or not the company will survive. Nonetheless, I am happy to be working and they have treated me well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job.
Data Entry - process 300+ bill of ladies (Former Employee), Sun Valley, CAAugust 15, 2012
Data entry of bill of lady's and manage the dock. Union so that was plus.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company trying to restructure and generate cash flow
Training and Development Management Positions (Former Employee), Overland Park, KSMay 6, 2012
The company has had a very challenging recent 6 years as it tries to bounce back from the difficulties of the recent recession. Many changes have occurred, challenging its employees to find more creative ways to get work accomplished. Much remains to be done to become profitable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor work environment
Customer Support Representative (Former Employee), Urbandale, IAApril 15, 2012
Very poor place to work. Does not treat employees well, unless they are a a** kisser or a "yes man"
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work but....limited opportunities
Pricing Operations Manager (Former Employee), Overland Park, KSMarch 17, 2012
Great company but limited growth opportunities until they get the company turned around...which they will but until then...limited growth potential.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call Center Enviornment
Customer Support Specialist II (Current Employee), Overland Park, KSMarch 12, 2012
Pros: excellent
Cons: evening and night shifts, weekends
24/7 operation, bring others on from temp agencies to fill vacancies rather then promote within the other departments and people looking for better hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work.
Combination Employee (Current Employee), Akron AreaDecember 5, 2011
Pros: pay and benefits
Cons: mostly night work, no advancement
A good place to work with a bunch of great people I have made a decent living here. As a Union Employee there is no room to advance.