Find companies:
Yukon-Kuskokwim Health Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
11 reviews

Yukon-Kuskokwim Health Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
YKHC is a great place to work
Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner (SANE-A) (Former Employee), Bethel, AlaskaFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: a caring attitude
Covering a vast area in a remote area of western Alaska, YKHC is a progressive, strategically aware leader of industry in the area.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Certified Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee), Bethel, AKOctober 24, 2013
Pros: pto. great work atmosphere.
Cons: lot of people come and go with the job.
I enjoy working with my co-workers and others in different departments (nurses). I like keeping busy. Get stuff done in a timely manner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy company with mainly customer service jobs.
Medical Technician (Former Employee), Bethel, AKSeptember 5, 2013
I say YKHC is a good company. That only needs to get better and how it runs. I hear a lot of good and bad complaint's about YKHC. I say it was a good company when I was working for them back in 2011. But when I left the company, everything started going down slowly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in a health care clinic
Health Aide (Former Employee), Chevak, AKJuly 5, 2013
Pros: encouragement from the community
Cons: none that i know of
A work day in a clinic would be slow some days and days where we have many patients to take care of. I've learned to maintain my anxieties of the emergencies to help the people with a life or death emergency. We are about a 1 hour air miles away from the nearest hospital and many times the weather is not cooperating with our patients health. There would – more... be days where we spend at least 48-72 hours in the clinic monitoring them till the Paramedics arrive. Working with the other health aides is very incredible all with the same knowledge but at different levels but most comfortable with the high levels of stress. Working in the health field helping people is something I enjoy whether it be a life or death situation. I enjoyed taking the on call phone which answers any emergency calls to giving advice to patients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dysfunctional Discriminatory Organization
Former e,ployee (Former Employee), Bethel, AKJune 16, 2013
Cons: ineffective management, no raises
None of the managers have management skills. Everything is an emergency. They don't plan anything.

Must be used to being completely cut off from civilization, be prepared.

Non-native citizens often are not included in meetings to improve the workplace.

They rely on grants and federal funds to operate. You are always at the mercy of another organization – more... for needed funds. The funds they do have are not closely monitored, projects are constantly exceeding their budgets, leaving less money for anything else. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and stimulating workplace
Data Entry Tech I (Former Employee), Bethel, AKApril 13, 2013
Working at the YKHC is one of the most inspiring and fun things I've done. A typical day was full of routines and meeting people. I learned a lot about what I am capable of doing when it comes to management and responsibility.
The relationship between co-workers was really great! It was always encouraging to go to work and be greeted with smiles.
the – more... hardest part of the job was learning different terms and names of things - but that went fairly quickly.
The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing goals reached and the feeling of accomplishing something good. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive with a lot of learning and nice people. co-workers very helpful.
Patient Account Clerk (Former Employee), bethel, AKApril 11, 2013
Working at YKHC was a great experience. The environment was nice and welcoming, every worker were helpful and nice. My mornings started with sending the overall reviews from the day before meaning what bills and insurances were posted and how much we received. I learned a lot about how insurance is billed, and how patients are billed for what they were – more... seen for. how to run the programs they use for billing and filling claims with different insurance companies. The management was good, she showed and told us what needed to be done. she was really helpful and showed me how to go about things to make it easier and understandable. overall she was really helpful. the hardest part was looking through all the payments and seeing what payment wasn't made that cause us to be short on the overall balance. I enjoyed the welcoming and how everyone in the department was willing to help me with what I didn't know about the programs we worked with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good if you want quick money.
Journeyman Electrician (Former Employee), Bethel, AKOctober 28, 2012
Pros: they provide housing.
Cons: food is extremely high.
Pay is low for Alaska and the groceries are extremely high! The work is okay. And they provide materials and transportation once you get to Anchorage.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
life
COMMUNITY HEALTH AIDE (Former Employee), Saint Mary's AlaskaJune 20, 2012
Pros: knowlege is power
Cons: death
Everyone gets sick, get injured, and require help on healing.
I sure miss working with the elders that was patient enough to wait for me till I was done with a patient. I would hear stories of the past and how the health was takien care of.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job advancement opportunities because of geographic location.
Grant Writer (Former Employee), Bethel, AlaskaDecember 16, 2011
Pros: compensation, job advancement
Cons: location
This is the largest non-government employer in rural Alaska. There is a lot of opportunity for advancement because there are so few people that are willing to work in rural Alaska. YKHC is for workers that enjoy community, culture and remote places. It is also the place I would return to work at immediately, if I were to return to rural Alaska.