Find companies:
Zachry Construction Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
54 reviews

Zachry Construction Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Light equipment operator
Light Equipment Operator (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: good work environment.
Cons: working with asbestos
Worked 10 hours a day/worked from 5-6 days weekly. Operated light equipment machinery.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always ,aware of the job and new and fun projects everyday.and very safe work place.
Carpenter (Former Employee), Louisville, KYAugust 21, 2014
Pros: blank
Cons: blank
Nice people to work with and very safe enviroment new projects everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Fabricator, Installer, Erector (Former Employee), Brooksville, FLAugust 12, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: nothing bad
Contracted postition at different places. Always a great place to work. Paid per diem out of town, paid hotel bills. Advancement was an option. No work in field worked in shop fabricating.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellant company to work for
Equipment Operator (Former Employee), FloridaJuly 30, 2014
Cons: having difficulty communicating with the jobsites about employment
Started working for Zachry when I was a senior in high school and have worked for one other company only. I would like to continue my employment with Zachry at Sweeny, TX, Port Neches, TX, Freeport, TX just as soon as possible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love this place
Project Coordinator (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJuly 22, 2014
This is hands down the best place I have ever worked at. Great everything...great pay, team, staff, and management. The culture is awesome for such a large organization. I hope life crosses my path with Zachry once more.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Carpenter - International Paper (Current Employee), Mansfield, LAJuly 3, 2014
Zachry offers a safe work environment and competent employees to meet job requirements
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Carpenter (Former Employee), West Palm Beach, FLJune 19, 2014
Pros: overtime
Safety and security measures was always the key on the jobsite.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very safety oriented, management never associated with common workers Job security was controlled by long term managers and employees.
Project General Superintendent (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJune 12, 2014
Pros: safety, most work associated around san antonio so commute was possible
Cons: management was to busy covering each other to appreciate the work performed by individuals
Safety oriented, management never associated with common workers, Advancement was controlled by long term managers and workers, it depended on who you know instead of your abilities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good company to start your career with.
PROJECT CONTROLS REP (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXMay 6, 2014
Zachry in my time there was a great company to start your career. You were exposed to a diverse business set and learned every aspect of the project life cycle. I understand the company separated into two business entities and is still performing well. I know a few people that I started working there with that are still there so job security and growth – more... must be a plus. respected my time and experience working for this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and learning new jobs.
Millwright Helper (Former Employee), Roxboro, NCApril 24, 2014
Pros: lunches for employees
Hard work pulling heavy cable, able to learn other jobs.
Working with friendly coworkers from different backgrounds.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Starter Company
Office Manager (Current Employee), Houston, TXMarch 16, 2014
Pros: see review
Cons: see review
Zachry has a lot of good people within the company, however, there were more downfalls than I had hoped for.

First, there is no formal training program. You are just expected to learn by experience and get thrown into a position of large responsibility. You are put under a microscope and are expected to perform to perfection with little/no experience – more... of the job.

Second, you are pressured to work very long hours. A typical day was never less than 10 hours, plus you are expected to work most weekends. This provides for little work/life balance.

Lastly, pay is mediocre for what you are being asked of. Do not expect to be compensated very well in the construction industry in general. It was not worth the pay/hours that you are asked to work.

You can get a lot of experience from working here, but you need to be a quick learner and always be on your toes. It is a rapidly changing environment and you will be presented with many stressful situations and challenges on a daily basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Welder/Pipe Fitter (Former Employee), Decatur, ILMarch 10, 2014
This was a great place where I used my skills of welding and manufacturing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Warehouse Processor/ Industrial Pipefitter (Former Employee), Loxahatchee, FLJanuary 1, 2014
One of my first industrial sites. Learn many fundamental skills of the trade.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I run all types of equipment at Exxon Mobil
Equipment Operator (Current Employee), Exxon Mobil Beaumont, TXDecember 31, 2013
Pros: plenty of overtime
Cons: no double time for working holidays
The project mgr. never talks to the workers. Everybody is scared they will get fired for any reason. I have good co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Place to Work For
N/A (Former Employee), Houston, TXDecember 13, 2013
Cons: working endless hours and not efficiently and no transparency.
I would not encourage anyone to work for ZCC. The company is not headed in the right direction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Warehouse Journeyman (Former Employee), Eastover, SCNovember 30, 2013
Pros: best company i ever worked for
Fair treatment, good compensation, and top caliber coworkers and leadership.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good people to work
Operator (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXSeptember 25, 2013
Pros: descent work week and fair pay
Cons: layoff
Shouldn't lay employee off if a job is finished. Find more work!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very safe place to work.
Operator (Former Employee), Front Royal, VAAugust 20, 2013
Pros: per dim
Cons: one break a day
Operating excavators, digging pipe lines A lot of safety was involved. Nice people to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Welder (Former Employee), Miami, FLJuly 20, 2013
I enjoyed working at this company. I was able to do welding on a variety of projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed getting a lot of overtime
WELDER (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXJune 19, 2013
The only negative part of the job was being out in the texas heat in the middle of summer.

1 2 3

About Zachry Construction Corporation

Zachry Construction Corporation is a privately owned construction and industrial maintenance service company based in San Antonio, – Read more

Zachry Construction Corporation Photos