Zim American Integrated Shipping Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Showing all 9 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company is years behind rest of world. Slow Computers, Rude supervisors, must be part of the click to advance.
Employee (Former Employee) –  NorfolkAugust 21, 2016
NOTHING is fair here, be careful. Don't trust Supervisors, they know how to play the game, they have favorites and its allowed. Norfolk is NOT a good place to work, temps & old timers do work, others play on cell phones, shop on internet and plan parties (this includes some Supervisors). H.R. looks out for H.R.
Pros
free coffee, smokers get unlimited breaks
Cons
Rude Supervisors, unfair work loads, hostile environment - horrible H.R. Dept.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not for professionals
Finance Manager/Director (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAMay 18, 2016
low pay; forget about bonuses
no promoted
professional development is not encouraged
management is decisive
low morale
expect cultural shock
Pros
hardly any
Cons
low pay; no pay increases;
Was this review helpful?Yes8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked for 10 years in 3 different positions
Contract Reconciliation Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VAJanuary 22, 2016
Great place to work with decent benefits. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
On Site Gym
Allowed to leave site for lunch
Holiday Christmas party
Birthday gift Cards
Pros
employee recognition
Was this review helpful?Yes1No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Freight Release Cashier (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAJanuary 14, 2016
busy sometimes boring...management needs training on how to handle employees. Co-workers are friendly and the job is easy. The most enjoyable part of the job is that the people are friendly.
Pros
free lunch & Christmas Party
Cons
don't like the management
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Place Where Careers Go to Die
Manager (Former Employee) –  Long Beach, CAApril 8, 2015
I will make this review thorough and to the point. If you want to tread water in your career, then by all means work here. If you want to see your career move forward, apply somewhere else and you will have a better chance for a thriving career and work / life balance.

ZIM is about 20 years behind the times. They were one of the last companies in the industry to be on a Windows based operating system and that was 10 years ago. My typical day at work was spent putting out many fires - both with customers, staff, clueless upper level management related. Working staff is comprised of longshoremen union personnel with whom in 90% of most cases are wonderful to work with. The remaining 10% could not and would not be able be hired at any other company other than where they are now.

Management: During my tenure, local upper level management was completely clueless and often militant against the union workforce. Mid- Level Managers were often caught in the middle trying to find common sense ways to run their departments while upper level management tried to push their agenda. It lead to a handful of workforce walkouts during my tenure there. Grievances are very common here. Local upper level management clearly not invested in their own workforce.

Coworkers: As I stated before, 90% of the union workforce is terrific and does a great job. 10% have an entitlement complex and could not work anywhere else. Mid level managers are almost always trying to achieve a happy medium of getting work done and trying to fight off the ideology of upper level management, who almost
  more... always, do not have a stake or a clue into what goes on in the trenches of the day-to-day business. They are more inclined to attend lunches, conferences, and other assorted outings rather than be concerned with what goes on in their own offices.

Hardest part of the job: Combative work environment, daily drama instigated by upper level management, systems going down, no compensation for overtime if you are a salaried manager. Being paid less than what a Sign Twirler makes.

Enjoyable part of job: Very little to say here aside from some of the friendships that I made while working here. There is no redeeming quality to this company as it does not have a stellar reputation in the shipping industry.
  less
Pros
Surprisingly not much to say here. Nice office location in DTLB with decent restaurants in the area.
Cons
Yearly bonuses were replaced by a free turkey at Christmas time
Was this review helpful?Yes16NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run away!!
Finance / Accounting Position (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAApril 29, 2013
Company moral is horrible. No raises for general staff in four years. Some have had salary deductions to maintain their employment. 8 hour shifts are required 5 days a week for all staff, even salary.
Pros
A paycheck
Cons
Impossible advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes43No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good company to work for and a very interesting
Auditor Caribbean and Central America (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLOctober 25, 2012
I used to come in very early, so that I could eat breakfast before I started to work. I learned a few software such as Iqship, Citrix, Sap.
I got along with all my co-workers and managers, I'm an easy person to get along. I used to work with commissions it was not hard but it was boring, and I enjoyed when the company sent me to take a training course in the head office out of state.
Pros
i used to get a free lunch every once a month
Cons
short brakes and vacations
Was this review helpful?Yes1No20Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning the ship business was great.
A/P Clerk/Intermodal Cost Control (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VASeptember 12, 2012
A typical day at work would be to process invoices for payment. I enjoyed learning the different department responsible of other departments. I got to learn how each department effects the other one.

I love working with my coworker. It was a pleasure to work with all different nationality. I think the hardest part of my job was losing people in the world trade center. But the most enjoyble part of the job was helping my coworker get ahead, and watch the growth.
Pros
the smile on my cowokers from growth.
Cons
learning the shipping business and promotion.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No28Report

Overall rating

2.3
Based on 9 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.1
Compensation/Benefits
2.4
Job Security/Advancement
1.9
Management
1.6
Culture
1.6

Zim American Integrated Shipping Reviews by Location