Find companies:
Zoo Atlanta
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
16 reviews

Zoo Atlanta Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Customer service (Former Employee), AtlantaSeptember 11, 2014
I loved being around the animals and loved my co workers and the atmosphere was amazing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Curator of Primates (Former Employee), Atlanta, GASeptember 11, 2014
Pros: great benefits, rewarding working with exotic animals, supportive
Cons: relatively low payscale.
This is essentially the same company as the first review. The Curator of Primates was the first exempt position for me and I enjoyed the freedom of being able to put in as many hours as I wanted.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very laid-back workplace
Lead Guest Service Agent (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 26, 2014
The culture was just a little too laid-back for me. It is fun being around the animals every day though and I learned a lot from working here!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and engaging workplace
Education Instructor (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 12, 2014
I genuinely enjoy coming into work for Zoo Atlanta. I really believe in what we are doing as a Zoo and the work environment is very friendly and engaging. Most of my co-workers are fun, like-minded people and I get along with just about everyone. The only hiccup with the job is that most positions don't pay too well but I guess its hard finding a job – more... that you love and pays you well too. I find that most wages are enough to get you by somewhat comfortably but its usually not enough to by many non-essentials. Other than that working at Zoo Atlanta has been one of the best experiences of my life and I recommend it to any outgoing animal lover – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy helping with Zoo animals and Guests, Great environment to work in
Volunteer (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAMay 13, 2014
Pros: being around wild animals
Cons: can get very hot working in the georgia sun
Zoo Ambassador: Offer guests an outstanding Zoo experience; greet guests with a cheerful and helpful attitude, offer tips on how best to explore the Zoo, and answer guest questions; providing a lively, educational and engaging experience to Zoo guests
Animal Nutrition Kitchen: prepared food for animal diets and feeding
Giraffe Assistant: Encourage guests – more... of all ages to participate in this unique animal experience; enhance guest experience by helping the Giraffe Guides with line management, flow of guest traffic, and/or cutting browse
Administrative Assistant: assist with data entry, mailings, making copies, and other administrative duties as assigned
Enrichment Team: Assist with projects designed to stimulate thinking and behaviors in Zoo animals; using household items create enriching items for zoo animals
Events: help welcoming guests, helping with event setup and breakdown, and running special stations (crafts, activities, etc) during events – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Volunteering job
Volunteer (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAApril 20, 2014
I volunteered here for 5 years and had a pretty fun time. I love animals so that was a major benefit for me even though it didn't pay anything.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AZA Member Zoo
Education Specialist and Petting Zoo Lead (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAOctober 21, 2013
Poor pay and benefits and little flexibility and growth opportunities.

Good zoo for those interested in research and animal training practices.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
THIS IS ONE OF MY FAVORITE WORKPLACE
Food Prep (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 6, 2013
Pros: 10% off food and drinks were free
Cons: it was always busy so everybody was able to take short breaks
Very had a bad typical day at work. I LEARNED A LOT WORKING HERE. Food prep, cutting meat, cook and ALL. Great co worker and management. I worked all over Zoo Atlanta in every food stand they had I loved the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice break time great work area
Crew Member (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJuly 9, 2013
Pros: long breaks, great hours, no drama, and i get to feed the animials
Cons: feet hurt at the end of the day
I have nor had no complaints about this company. great work hours. Good people to talk too to get the day going overall a very good job to have.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, unique place to work
Merchandise/ Sales Associate (Gift Shop) (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAMay 4, 2013
Pros: geting experience, working with a team
Cons: no benefits, or room for advancement
In working at Zoo Atlanta I learned customer service, and how to work with a team. The hardest part of my job is dealing with the difficult customers. The most enjoyable part of my job is being in a unique work environment. A typical day at work will consist of assisting the customers with whatever they need, stocking merchandise, and handling the cash – more... register. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun with Admissions
Senior Guest Services Agent (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAApril 30, 2013
Working for Zoo Atlanta was a dream come true. I got to see gorgeous animals everyday, happy children and talk to guests.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heart felt and caring keepers
Volunteer (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMarch 11, 2013
My experience at Zoo Atlanta was a positive one. The staff was very helpful and knowledgable at what they do. If it wasn't for the fact that I moved way to far away, I would continue to volunteer there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work that also has great people to work with
Herpetology Intern/Volunteer (Current Employee), Atlanta, GANovember 12, 2012
Pros: interaction with animals, enjoyable work, field work off zoo grounds
Cons: never got to do any keeper talks for visitors
A typical work day at the zoo can start as early as 7am on some days and go all the wat until 5:30pm. You do morning checks on the animals in the collection then you get started on the various tasks you have to do throughout the day. Some days, there are a good deal of things to get done in the 8-10 hours you are there, however most of the time you – more... don't end up doing the same routine back to back days.

I learned a lot about reptiles over the years of working at Zoo Atlanta that I never thought I could learn much less knew before I started working there. The management of the department is excellent. They give you a lot of lee-way to do your job while still making suggestions at times on how they see it should be done. The rest of the keepers (my other co-workers) are good people to work with too. They also gave me a lot of independence in the work I was assigned and how I did it.

The hardest part of the job was actually making it through the last couple hours of the day. The morning routines went by quick but after lunch you got going with other routines and they needed to be wrapped up by the time you left. You've been working tirelessly for 7-8 hours so your body is tired and is telling you to slow down but at the same time you know you have to work faster to get your tasks done. Overall though, its a very enjoyable job and place to work. The best part about working there is I get to work in close (though not always "hands on") contact with a wide variety of different reptiles most people have seen or heard much of. I wanted to do something with animals most of my life and I finally got the chance to at Zoo Atlanta. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job I ever had...
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 3, 2012
Pros: the environment with the animals...
The people,the animals and just being able to see all the visitors come in and leave with a smile on their face...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much work, too little management support
Former Employee (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMay 14, 2012
Pros: work with animals, great co-workers
Cons: terrible morale, terrible management practices, lack of respect for employees
As with many non-profits, you don't work here for the pay or the hours. You work at Zoo Atlanta because you believe in the mission that they are trying to fulfill - the advancement of conservation education.

Sadly, the morale at this non-profit is dismal. Employees are overworked - having the responsibilities of 2 or 3 people. Co-workers are incredible – more... people, but most are exhausted and unhappy. Management is unorganized, insensitive, and unsupportive.

Since leaving this job, I am a happier and healthier person. While the work was fulfilling, the environment wasn't healthy or constructive. Its unfortunate because it could be a great company to work for, but it just isn't. – less