Zoo New England Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy and never adull moment
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Boston, MASeptember 29, 2017
very busy atmosphere and very welcoming culture. You will have the chance to work with animals and people. They have lots of events and fields trips and community events you will be required to work and very interesting facts of working in a busy atmosphere
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Atmosphere but little compensation
Admissions and Membership (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJune 30, 2017
Zoo New England was a fun place to work but they offer very little compensation. Most zoos pay considerably more. They have great animal care staff but most of the upper management and directors are awful (especially Human Resources Director, Jennifer Davis Cain; Marketing Manager, Brooke Wardrobe; and Vice President, Robert George). I really hope they make some big changes because if they do they could become a great zoo.
Pros
Atmosphere
Cons
Compensation and upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work. fun atmosphere.
Animal Care Intern (Former Employee) –  Stoneham, MANovember 5, 2015
everyone was kind. i learned a lot in just a short amount of time and it was an experience i will never forget. if i could do it again i would in a heartbeat!
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAOctober 18, 2015
this was the best job ever far as the freedom i had and flexibility other then that the pay wasn't very good and it was by weekly
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love my job
Senior Zookeeper (Current Employee) –  Boston, MASeptember 26, 2015
Typical day consists of basic husbandry of a wide variety of taxa. Operant conditioning of multiple animals.
I learn different health issues with carious taxa of animals as well s anatomy.
I enjoy being so hands on from day to day and being outside working on my feet
Pros
hands-on experience with animals
Cons
Working in extreme weather and on weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot
Animal Care Intern (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 17, 2013
As an intern I was able to learn a lot from the people I worked with and Zoo New England is really good about continuing your education by providing classes. I would have to say that the department I worked with was not very friendly and often spoke poorly of other departments.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great experience and i loved it.
Customer Service, Data Entry and Filing (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAOctober 23, 2012
summer season very busy which i loved. winter season it wasn't as busy but it was still a fun place to work,
Cons
shortbreaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Zne
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  DORCHESTER, MAMay 17, 2012
Franklin Park Zoo is a wonderful place to work if you love to interact with people. Also if you love nature and animals. I have nothing bad to say.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Zoo New England. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 9 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
4.0
Management
3.7
Culture
4.2

Zoo New England Reviews by Location