AFLAC opportunities and saturation in NJ (Central-North Jersey)

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (2)

Tom (in Jersey not PA) in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

17 months ago

So I am currently considering AFLAC as my first real career opportunity (have an interview this Tuesday) and I just have a few questions. Before I get to them though, I'd like to provide a little information about myself so that I can paint a picture of my current situation:

I am 22 year old recent grad. with a BS degree from a university but it was not my desired degree (it was a by-product of pursuing a Doctorate which I am no longer pursuing). I have about 14 credits of graduate work towards an MBA (which I do plan on continuing, at least for now). I have had no work experience since high school and I have a lot of student loan debt. Luckily I am not on my own and have family that is helping me out with my living expenses. The loans are mine to pay, but they are helping to support me. I want my independence and I want to be able to start making a life for myself and my girlfriend (who is still in her associate degree program). Basically the last year of my life has been a huge character-building mess that has brought me to my current situation. I want to get out there, I want to cut my teeth, and I'm hungry.

I'm not the kind of person to walk into a new situation blindly however. I have read many negative comments about AFLAC and the high washout rate. I also have read the comments of successful agents. I'd like to think I'm cut out for sales but regardless I know I have what it takes to work hard. What I want to know is if I put in that hard work, can I at least hope to make a livable wage (at least after the first 6-8 months)? While I would like to be one of those people who makes six figures after only a few years working at AFLAC (and while I think I have the drive to be one), my goals are more realistic.

So my questions are: