How I got hired and a few questions about training

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (8)

CC in Ocala, Florida

26 months ago

To give you a summary. I graduated from HS in June of this year and I'd been filling out applications upon the hundreds. I didn't have any prior work experience but I had A LOT of volunteer hours (over 2000) and numerous awards.

I filled out the application for a customer service rep for AT&T at the local call center as soon as I saw it posted. This is a job chance you shouldn't put off or wait on. The benefits are amazing. I filled out my application with 100% honesty. I didn't try and over exaggerate my abilities or make myself seem better than I was. The HR department in Cali (I live in FL) reviewed it rather quickly and got back to me the same night and scheduled me for a teleconference a few days later.

The teleconference is an absolute must and you really learn a lot about the position you're applying for and the company from it. It also helps a lot if you can stay tuned with the online portion of it as well but it's not mandatory. About 20 people were a part of mine and I didn't say anything special or try to make conversation with the host. The host is there to teach you not to answer personal questions. Towards the end of the conference I was asked (amongst others) to choose a time for scheduled testing at the local call center.

I chose to take mine 3 days after the conference at 1 in the afternoon.