You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (14)

Jose in French Camp, California

93 months ago

Same Here

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (5) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Felicia in Riverside, California

93 months ago

They definetley suck all of them..If you can hold out get a real job don't waste your freakin time!!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (5) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Theresa in Knoxville, Tennessee

93 months ago

You have to know how to work for a temp company to do well. I can tell you how the clerical end works: I've been a secretary since 1989 so I have some experience in this field.

Temp pools usually ideally have a few more good workers than good jobs. You have to show that even though you have the same skills as 10 other temps, you are more professional, more dependable, and make their company look better look good by looking good to their clients.

If you do that, the temp company will send you to the assignments they need in order to look good and thus secure more assignments.

Also, the temp pool fluctuates depending on the skills of their sales staff. They have a delicate balancing act between having plenty of staff to draw from while keeping that staff just busy enough to deter them from finding a job elsewhere.

In my experience, and I've done the temp thing 3 times, If you are willing to temp long enough to get a good paying job for your skill levels, it will take about a year and a half of temping to land it.

The first time I did this was for a private publishing corporation that had an internal temp pool.

The second and third time I did this through Randstad. Every permanent job I had since 1990 has been secured through a temp agency. My first job I temped for a year and a half to get and it lasted 5 years until the company closed down, my second job lasted 7 years until I just got burnt out and changed industries, the third job I'm still working for and it's been 1 and 1/2 years and still going strong.