Entry level position my butt

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (5)

Daflyone in Chicago, Illinois

86 months ago

How is someone supposed to get experience in Usability when there are no one is willing to hire a recent college grad? I have a degree in usability from DePaul but I've been unsuccessful in landing a usability job. I've been forced to take a helpdesk position because I cant find anything because places like Allsate wont give me a chance.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (4) / No (3) Reply - Report abuse

Don't fret! in Louisville, Colorado

86 months ago

You keep looking and keep working because that helpdesk experience is actually valuable in your degree field. If you know why people don't like or understand a website or software it will make you better able to create requirements for more intuitive software. Helpdesk is actually a good place to be "from" as it exposes you to all areas of IT and you can demonstrate that you are responsible and can hold down a job.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No Reply - Report abuse

seattle in Muskego, Wisconsin

86 months ago

Helpdesk is the best place to start a career in IT. I put my time in for 4 years and the skills learned during my time at Helpdesk has been the most valuable. Just keep learning and letting people know that you want to do Usability stuff and eventually someone will give you a shot. The best part about helpdesk is that you get to meet people you wouldn't normally meet in other jobs.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (3) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

nun ur biz in Chicago, Illinois

85 months ago