HELP! Need career and life advice. Electrical Engineer

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1)

gary916 in Sacramento, California

64 months ago

Hello All,
I want to thank each reader in advance for his or her suggestions. I am in a serious need of your advice in my situation with life and career. I am a recent graduate of B.S. Electrical Engineering. My wife and I were planning for a long time to move to the east coast (southeast) after my graduation since her family lives there. I graduated from the west coast (CA). We went through some tough times in the west coast and started to really dislike it and wanted a fresh start in life and be close to some family as well.
After my graduation, we moved to the east coast and I got my first job as an Engineer (in the Power Energy industry) after 3 months of being in the east coast but only after a month, I started to really dislike the job and the job environment. I kept on working at the job to see if time might make it better. The job required a lot of outside work (50%+) on a daily basis and driving to remote locations with a lot of electrical construction type of work year long. The fact that we were in the east coast close to some family was a blessing for us but we ended up in a very small east coast city and found it very different to the west coast. Shortly after that, one of my references called me regarding a job opportunity in the same west coast city where we lived with the company interested in me. I had done an internship with this company while in school and knew the work would be ideal for me. I decided to fly back for an interview and got the job. They offered me $10k more and relocation with 2 year minimum employment. If I quit before 2 years, I would have to return the relocation cost to the company.