What's the company culture at Dollar General?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (51 to 100 of 341)
Page:  « Previous   1  2  3  4  5  Next »   Last »

michaelallhands in Columbia, Missouri

96 months ago

I was a store manager with DG for about 2 years. I came on board after five years of retail management experience in the St. Louis market. I have never encountered a company like DG.
1-Management is given no resources to work with. The company is well aware of its image problems (dirty, out of stock stores, bad costumer service, etc.). However their solution to this is to berate DM's, who then make life miserable for SM's. I ran two different million dollar a year stores and never had more than 140 pay roll hours to work with. Which meand if you are management, be ready for 70 hour work weeks and never having more than one associate working.
2-This company is archaic in all forms of technology. There are no PC's in the store and the ancient IBM registers crash with regularity.
3- There is a major problem with inventory. Stores receive about 1000 pieces of freight each week but you have no idea what you are getting at the store level. Nothing is checked in; you just have to take it on faith that you are getting what the warehouse says you are getting. This leads to massive shrink at inventory time, which is chalked up to internal theft at the store level. This is preposterous given that there is no manifest available to SM's to confirm what is coming in to the store vs. what is supposedly shipped.