I can't find a decent job

Comments (16)

Patty Fraser in Bradenton, Florida

92 months ago

hello,
i was laid off from a long term position in may & have yet to find a decent position. i been offered a couple but they were not something i would be content doing for any length of time. i am 56 years old, i do not have an associates degree or any other degree aside from my ged, i am not bilingual & i can not afford to work for anything less than 10$ per hour & that is only marginally acceptable (i have been making 15$ an hour for the past 4 years). i am not being snitty or hard azzed about this, florida has become very expensive to live in & my home is also in a fema designated flood zone.
is anyone else having such a difficult time?
thanx much
patty

Japanese Bilingual in Frisco, Texas

91 months ago

Patty Fraser in Bradenton, Florida said: hello,
i was laid off from a long term position in may & have yet to find a decent position. i been offered a couple but they were not something i would be content doing for any length of time. i am 56 years old, i do not have an associates degree or any other degree aside from my ged, i am not bilingual & i can not afford to work for anything less than 10$ per hour & that is only marginally acceptable (i have been making 15$ an hour for the past 4 years). i am not being snitty or hard azzed about this, florida has become very expensive to live in & my home is also in a fema designated flood zone.
thanx much
patty

Unfortunately, your situation is common for most Females over 45. I've experienced it. I've met numberious very, very well educated people in much less expensive states that are also being offered Commission Only or Low hourly wage like yours. Uhhh going from $100,000. a year to $10. an hour isn't a good thing either!

You must retrain into something.