Getting a job

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (6)

AKS in Portland, Oregon

94 months ago

I've applied for copywriting, am continually told the creative director wants heavy 'fashion writing' background and rejects anyone without that background. Yet, I keep seeing position postings, repeatedly, for both staff and contract.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Senior Citizen in Atlanta, Georgia

94 months ago

I am afraid I do not follow your line of thought. Please advise if I have misunderstood, but it appears you are not understanding the relationship between the jobs offered and the backgrounds desired.

I am a technical writer and am quite aware of the vast difference between writing on different subject matters. A person who can write a wonderful novel may not be worth much if the job entails writing ad copy for a fashion mag - as example.

Likewise, the director may want staff and contract applicants to more or less ALL be from a fashion background. My particular expertise is electronics and I can and have written highly technical manuals and training materials in that field, but I would not have a clue when it came to writing, evaluating or even knowing how to handle fashion industry ad copy.

What little I know of that industry seems to be a case of having mostly visual copy with a few scintillating words of how extraordinary the design is and then the decision is made to go to press. It is all over in a few days. In my area, you write details and specifications and archive the information so anyone who works on or purchases the equipment can read up on information even years from now.

An analogy is that what your director wants is what is written on the side of a package that contains a new computer. What is written in the user's manual for that computer is formatted in a completely different way and by very different writers - or should be.