Good entry level gov job for someone with bachelors in political science (no experience)?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (5)

lonni rob in Colorado Springs, Colorado

52 months ago

was wondering what jobs I could get . I am getting my bachelor's in politcal science. unfortunately, the only expeirence i have is being a custodian before college. I am entering the MPA (masters of public administration ) program and would like to start working while i complete that so i can start working my way up the ladder. any suggestions for jobs I'd qualify for or salaries I can get? Thanks!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (3) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Sooners in Fairfax, Virginia

48 months ago

I also received my BA in poli Sci from the University of Oklahoma and now working for the Federal Gov't. I didn't have any experiences when I graduated, either. Luckly, I was able to started at a GS-5 and slowly worked my way up. You can practically apply for ANY GS-5 unless they want certain degrees to meet basic requirements. Please don't pre-exlude yourself from applying because you feel not qualifying (you want to get your foot in, right?) Once you get a MPA degree, you can apply to a GS-9. I did that last year and got it.

Good Luck to you.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No (3) Reply - Report abuse

lonni rob in Colorado Springs, Colorado

48 months ago

Thanks for your reply :) How much does GS 5 pay? How much does GS 9 pay? Does that mean you wound up getting your MPA also? What sort of position was it? I really appreciate you replying :)

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

Sooners in Fairfax, Virginia

48 months ago