Seriously...80-100% travel at most IBM-posted jobs?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (40)

Some Person in Aurora, Illinois

92 months ago

Micky...the idea of the comment was that NO company is worth wasting your life for, even IBM.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (16) / No (4) Reply - Report abuse

Ken F in Jacksonville, Florida

92 months ago

Actually there are many instances where 80-100% travel makes a lot of sense otherwise OHare and every other metro airport would not be filled with these folks leaving on Monday morning and returning Thursday night. I have been recruiting and placing such IT people for 25 years with companies that include IBM. Just placed 2 this month. Here are some of the reasons for doing it:
1. More money - since you are a billable resource being sent to clients each week you are in fact a profit center rather than being an expense item if you worked in-house. this changes the economics of the relationship between you and the company. The more they can bill you for the more they can afford to pay you. So you might ask why not just be an independent contractor, do the travel and get paid more.. 3 reasons a) marketing - they spend a ton of money and time marketing which keeps you billing b) training - they pay to keep you trained so that they can bill more for you c) management - there is a ladder to move up and they want you to move up that ladder - and if you do you reach a point where you don't have to travel.

2. Experience - it has been said that 5 years on road for one of these firms is like working 10 years inhouse plus adding an MBA - the reason is that you get to work in such a variety of situations - different size companies, different industries, different applications - and you become an advisor to the client telling them what to do..thus the term "consultant"