New England Financial News and Happenings.

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (3)

Host

What do you think - will New England Financial grow fast? Are they expanding their staff? How does New England Financial stack up against the competition?

Reply - Report abuse

Newgy in Portland, Oregon

70 months ago

Yes. New England Financial is expanding their staff. But if you don't meet their cookie cutter 'profile assessment' you don't get in.

I applied to New England Financial after graduating college with a BS in Finance in 2007. I have plenty of sales experience in financial services, and sales experience in general.

So, I entered their length interview process, took their profile assessment, apparently passed it with flying colors, completed their network marketing assessment where you make a profile of people who would be able to refer potential clients to you (had an excellent list because of all the extra curricular activities I belong to). They loved my profile assessment it said I would do well right off the bat as a financial advisor (that's what they told me). Then I decided to go a different direction in my career path at the time and turned down the offer to join the US Navy as an active duty officer.

A year later, I went to training with the Navy. Decided to switch to become a reservist and came back to New England. They still had my profile assessment. We went through the lengthy interview process again, met with their recruiting financial advisor (John Lawry), met with his boss (Michelle ?), and got the approval of the boss to become a paid intern (to get paid while I studied to get my licenses basically). A sweet deal, most companies won't support you that way in financial advising.