My OfficeTeam Experience

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (2)

rkn in Boonton, New Jersey

58 months ago

First off, I am not a recruiting manager at OfficeTeam.

Instead of the usually criticism and hate messages people post about OfficeTeam, here is my experience. I graduated from college last year (which tells you a little about my age). I had a full-time permanent job but not anymore, which is why I took a look at OfficeTeam. I posted my resume on their website and 3 days later, I got a call to come into their office for an interview. The interview consisted of two parts: the computer-based testing (PowerPoint, Word, Excel) and a Q&A.

OfficeTeam says they have 4 million registered users in their nationwide database. Assuming the numbers are accurate, what does that mean for job-seekers like you & me? It means that if you are not proactive, you will not catch any fish. OfficeTeam recruiters do not work for job-seekers. There's an oversupply of us out there. Do not expect an OfficeTeam recruiter to call you even if they find a perfect fit for you because they will not remember you. You have to check their website for listings, which come and go constantly. I had my eye on 4 job listings on their website when I went into their office. The posting dates were about two weeks old. 3 of the postings were gone by the time I asked. I got lucky with the 4th posting; I am interviewing directly with OfficeTeam's client tomorrow.

Were there fake job postings? I'm not sure. It'd be unethical for temporary staffing firms to do that, but I wouldn't be surprised if they did. To combat that issue, I purposely gave references to the OfficeTeam interviewer of past managers who have been laid off. After all, the recruiter cannot turn around and ask my former managers for "new business" since they are no longer with the firm.