I hate sears

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (51 to 100 of 230)
Page:  « Previous   1  2  3  4  5  Next »   Last »

nunamed in az

59 months ago

THis is for sandy you need to click on lower left hand cornor---Reply or view comments. if reply you can put in your comment about this wonderful company

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (7) / No (4) Reply - Report abuse

jman03 in Dexter, Missouri

57 months ago

Part 1 of 2

I was employed by Sears for a year or so. I took the job because I am in college and I needed some extra cash. I am also a military veteran and I am currently serving in the reserves. So I'm not some snot nosed spolied college kid, I'm 27 years old and have a family at home. Now that no one can make any hasty character generalizations about me I'll tell you why I'm here voicing my opinion.

During my time at Sears I learned to become a pretty effective sales person. I worked for 100% commission selling appliances. I got along with everyone, including managers. I was always very professional and ALWAYS took care of my customers. I never had a single complaint the entire time I worked there.

Now here's my problem with Sears and their management. Everytime I turned around our commission rates were being cut due to some special sale. When a particular item became "a hot deal" Sears cut commission rates by half. We couldn't ever get excited about a sale because we knew we were always going to get screwed. So I found a way to stick it right back to Sears during these sales. I simply turned the customer away from those items and sold them something else. Even if it meant down selling them into something cheaper. I still made more money by doing that instead of selling the "hot deal" items.
That's a big reason I left Sears. But it's not the only reason.