so many reasons NOT to work for CVS

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (10)

james in Brookline, Massachusetts

110 months ago

I WAS a pharmacy manager for a boston store for 11 years.
The job: retail pharmacy- patients are sick so they're grumpy. always give them the benefit of the doubt because they're "always" right. after all your everyday hardwork, if you get 1 unhappy customer who actually files a complaint- whether its "too long a wait", "the co-pay was too much", "the item was not in-stock", "item was not ready as promised" or just simply "the staff is not friendly" - expect a sit down talk and action plan with your supervisor.
Oh, did I forget to mention that you are severely UNDERSTAFFED. Go figure out why. for that kind of work, not to mention being on your feet every minute, with hardly any time to go to the bathroom, dealing with long lines, not to mention 3 pharmacy calls all at once, you get paid anywhere from $8 to $10 as a new pharmacy technician, with annual maximum raise of 3% (0.30 cents)-if you're lucky.
The benefits package might sound appealing but if you take out the premiums you'd pay for the cheapest medical insurance- you barely have enough for coffee or gas money.
If you're smart enough- go figure why CVS is so desperate to hire pharmacists and pharmacy technicians- people are quitting. CVS is not expanding nor opening new stores, at least not in boston.
To the brave ones who still wants to give CVS a try- good luck to you.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (38) / No Reply - Report abuse

Anonymous in Tyler, Texas

110 months ago

james said: I WAS a pharmacy manager for a boston store for 11 years.