Hiring a 61 year-old

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (9)

SereneOne in Hartford, Connecticut

23 months ago

I'm a graphic designer, and 61 years-old.

Someone passed my resume to one of JPMorgan Chase's ancillary divisions. The company has now asked me to come in for a job interview.

The Chase people have no idea how old I am. My resume has no "age-identifying" information, and shows only my employment history from the past 12 years.

My question:

Even if they LOVE my work, will "corporate policy" instantly kick me into the reject bin when they see that I'm not a 30-something, but 61 years-old?

I'd rather not waste time going on a pointless interview where someone of my "mature years" doesn't stand a chance in hell. I've gone on enough of those already.

Thanks.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No Reply - Report abuse

Joe Gagill in Monticello, New York

23 months ago

you really need to put 20 years of work history down

i'm in my forties and i put 12 years down sometimes only, and when i come walking in the look on their face is not good

they thought i'd be 35

then they ask, "so what year did you graduate college."

i don't know, go and tell us what happens. age discrimination is big. starts at 40.

dye your hair, be energetic at the interview, don't wear outdated clothes and good luck.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (3) / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

23 months ago

i love it when these morons say, my brother went to the college you went to, what year did you graduate?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No Reply - Report abuse

23 months ago

I just reread your original post. You state that someone passed along your resume. I overlooked that.

If this person has allot of pull at Morgan than age might not matter in your situation.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

SereneOne in Hartford, Connecticut

23 months ago