How to get your you foot through the door at lockheed martin

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (13)

newgrad in Chandler, Arizona

44 months ago

Hi. So i just graduated college with a Mechanical Engineering Degree and am now going back to obtain a Masters Degree in Aerospace Engineering concentrating in Computational Fluid Dynamics. Ive applied at numerous jobs online for Lockheed Martin and also multiple times at Career Fairs that is held every year at my school but have never had any interviews. I don't have any real engineering experience which i why i have mostly applied for internships or co-ops but still no luck. When i graduated with my B.S degree, my a G.P.A slightly higher than 3.0, i have used a variety of CAD and FEA softwares and am certified in SolidWorks.I am also a certified Engineer in Training (E.I.T) and am pretty experineced in MATLAB and FORTRAN since that is all we use for the research im doing in CFD. Im not sure what other ppl think but i think i am qualified for some entry level positions (at least for a phone interview or something) but i have applied to many positions without any responses. I was wondering if anybody has any good ideas of what they're looking for any contacts that could help me at least get an interview.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No Reply - Report abuse

eggy in Palmdale, California

44 months ago

A 3.0 gpa from UofA (I'm assuming that's where you went?) is not going to stand out. And that's probably you're problem- you may be "qualified" for an entry level position, but so are all those people from your program, CalTech, MIT, VaTech, GaTech, etc with higher GPAs, relevant internships and coops, NASA fellowships, etc.