Master's degree in physics seeks real work

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 69)
Page:   1  2  Next »   Last »

Rob in Columbus, Ohio

39 months ago

I'm 30 years old. I have a master's degree in physics which I got in 2008. After graduating I was unemployed (aside from a few dollars I made tutoring) for nearly two years. In March of last year (2010), I got a job teaching at Ohio State, essentially a TA, the same thing I did when I was a grad student. Right now I'm being hired for periods of three months at a time on an as-needed basis, and I have no benefits (health insurance, etc.). My earnings total $25k-$30k a year. I am appreciative that I have work, especially after having been unemployed for so long. My job now isn't difficult; it could be a lot worse. But I want something doing "real work" and something with better pay and more stability.
I've used Monster, Careerbuilder, Indeed, etc. - all those online job search sites - and applied to literally thousands of jobs, but over the past year I've essentially given up on that. My experience is that they simply don't work. I had one interview in 2008 and one in 2009, neither of which led to anything. That's all. I've applied to several places in person, but nowadays, everything's done online anyway, so I really don't see the difference. I've attended a few career fairs, but usually I just get told to "check out our jobs online." Yeah, I could've done that from the house. Now I'm just hoping to hear something from a friend or acquaintance that leads to a job. I do not want to teach anymore either. I just want to do something *else.* I know I could do a lot of jobs as well, or in nearly all cases, better than the engineering students who are in my classes - many of whom graduate and get jobs - but I don't have the word "engineering" on my degree, so I guess that disqualifies me for a lot of things.