Paralegal Majors - Advice Please!

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (6)

fl-girl07 in Florida

27 months ago

Hello everyone, after careful consideration I have decided to go to college to become a paralegal. I already have my basic AA degree and will be going for my BA.
I might be moving to Jacksonville and I was considering going to UNF, but they don't have a legal studies program like I wanted.

So I've narrowed down my options for majors to:

Bachelors of Business Administration: Major - Finance, Minor: Political Science

PROS:
-Business is a versatile degree which could lead me to many potential job opportunities in the end
-If I decide to be a litigation paralegal or something of the sort, finance and money would be very helpful
CONS:
- It doesn't help with the legal aspect so when I get a job as a paralegal I'm afraid I will be lost and will deff have to be trained for everything
- I think I would be kind of bored learning about business and I don't want to end up being a manager or stuck in some kind of head retail position if paralegal work doesn't work out

OR

Major - Political science, Minor - Business Administration.

PROS:
- Politics somewhat interests me so I don't think I'd be too bored learning
- It kind of helps with a basic understanding of law issues
- The business as a minor could get me a job in finance somewhere if paralegal work didn't work out
CONS:
- The major itself I heard is not worth much and if paralegal work doesn't work out then I'm afraid it will be hard to find another job (VERY important to me)
- I don't want to work for campaigns or things like that if I end up having to

I understand that they're basically the same thing, but if I'm going to spend a majority of my time focused on my major I want it to be something that's helpful in the end.
PLEASE ANY ADVICE IS APPRECIATED! THANK YOU!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No (3) Reply - Report abuse

my advice in Aurora, Illinois