How long until you change your resume?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (4)

newjobseeker in Fullerton, California

26 months ago

Hello there, I'm currently on the hunt for a new job in a different industry and I'm somewhat new to job seeking since I've been consistently employed since I was 16. I am currently employed. I have submitted my resume and/or cover letter to 13 companies within the past 4 weeks and have only received one follow-up phone interview (waiting for an in-person interview) and one appointment with a recruiter. I've had several emails from recruiters for I'm looking for perm work and they are basically offering contract work.

When do you re-group and update your resume and/or cover letter due to lack of response. Thanks for any help out there!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

JD in Yerington, Nevada

26 months ago

You should chsnge resume for every single job for which you apply, targeting it for each position/employer. In real world, this won't happen. I suggest changing the format of your resume - if you're using a chronological format, go to a functional or combination format. Since you're looking in a different industry, it could be that your resume focus isn't what employers are wanting to see. If you can, though, change/update the skill sets on your resume to match the job requirements for each position - it's a little more work, but it can pay off pretty well.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No Reply - Report abuse

jenab in Austin, Texas

26 months ago

No job is permanent anymore, even if you're hired on as a regular employee. In some fields, contract is the norm, and if you're switching fields, you're less likely to be offered the premium positions.