Looking to get into government work

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (27)

collegegrad in Chester, New York

15 months ago

I'm a 24 year old with a bachelor's degree in International Relations, living in the nyc area. I'm studying for my master's degree and I am interested in going into intelligence another type of national security. I was wondering if anyone had any experience breaking into the field, I have had a few nonprofit internships and all my paid work experience is in retail. I've been looking for more government internships but they all seem to be located in DC and are unpaid or pay little.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

Bluetea in Texas

15 months ago

collegegrad in Chester, New York said: I'm a 24 year old with a bachelor's degree in International Relations, living in the nyc area. I'm studying for my master's degree and I am interested in going into intelligence another type of national security. I was wondering if anyone had any experience breaking into the field, I have had a few nonprofit internships and all my paid work experience is in retail. I've been looking for more government internships but they all seem to be located in DC and are unpaid or pay little.

If we had government jobs, we wouldn't be here. Well, most of us wouldn't.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No Reply - Report abuse

Almost Suicidal in San Antonio, Texas

15 months ago

I was surprised that out local work force office had a recruiting event with the CIA on site. Most of their events they host are Toyota assembly line and other blue collar type stuff.

You might look online for such events in your area. Not sure if they go through USA jobs or not, but either way they have a gazillion applicants in their data base. A face to face opportunity would be excellent.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Elizabeth in North Chicago, Illinois

15 months ago