Need a bit of career advice and help with decision making.

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (8)

Gari in London, United Kingdom

14 months ago

I have around 12 years of IT experience and have been working for very large multinational for the last 9 years. I Joined there as middle level engineer and gained skills/Experience and moved up the roles over the course of my time. However over the last couple of years re-org within the company means that they moved from technology based teams to process based teams which means that the work I used to/enjoyed to do is split over number of teams and I found myself doing more and more documentation or process based work. I now feel like that my growth has stopped as I am not learning any new technical skills or doing much hands on.

I fear that this degradation of my technical skills will mean that in few years’ time I will not be employable outside my current company (on the salary that I currently get) in case they decide to re-org further /cut jobs etc..!

I now have Job offer from a small Local company where I will be working as a consultant doing everything in the same role – Basically from Design to Implementation to test to support as there is only 1 engineering team which does all.

However the salary they are offering is just on par with my current salary and in terms of other benefits (Pension, Holidays, and Medical etc.) I will be losing out.

Now I am not sure if I should move out or not as apart from losing benefits I will be losing the continuity of my service. But I have a chance of gaining back my technical skills in new job.
What would you do if you were in my place?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No Reply - Report abuse

KA2 in Sydney

14 months ago

I believe it all depends on your personal circumstances.

I also think it is very hard to guess which would be better long term, as you have a very large multinational company versus a small company.