Any advice for a recent accounting grad with only retail experience looking for an accounting job?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (3)

Jenn in Watertown, Massachusetts

33 months ago

I graduated 5 months ago and can't find an accounting job. I expected things to be tough but I'm really worried the longer I go without finding an accounting job the harder it'll get for me. Also a lot of people i know who graduated have found decent jobs which makes me think something is wrong with me. I didn't do any internships and I have no accounting experience whatsoever. I did look for good jobs while in school but looking back i didnt try hard enough and my interview skills kinda sucked. I think I graduated with a decent gpa 3.2 from a decent school but my resume just includes retail experience where I've worked min wage jobs all through school. Now that I've graduated, I'm still working the same jobs. I don't want to work in retail forever. How do I make the transition into a professional job? I keep meeting with temp agencies but no luck. I don't get it because everyone tells me temp agencies are the besy way to get my foot in the door. I've emailed my resume to all the accounting firms in my city. Still no luck. Right now I'm taking the liberty tax course and hopefully I can prepare taxes this year. What else should I be doing?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (4) / No Reply - Report abuse

Sara in Fort Collins, Colorado

33 months ago