is accounting good for introverts?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (5)

MCBAK in Bakersfield, California

34 months ago

From what I have seen in the recent advertisements and recruiting events, accounting is very big on extroversion. It appears to me that they are so interested in extroversion that an extremely extroverted individual with a 2.5 GPA would be easily hired over an introvert with a 3.7 GPA. Recruiting is basically an extroversion contest. If you are going to pursue a career in accounting, join as many clubs as possible, meet as many people as possible, build your social-media network, run for the president of everything, get internships (plural) and compete in as many business competitions as possible. Since accounting is more about who you know than what you know, it is very important to network to even get started in accounting.

I graduated with BS in Business Administration-Accounting with above a 3.0 GPA, was active in clubs, and gained volunteer experience; No job yet. For someone with your personality and educational ability, I would recommend engineering. This is the same advice I gave to my nephew and several cousins, and it is also the advice I wish someone had given me when I was starting college. It is great that you are doing you research before committing to a career in accounting. Also, the qualification for the CPA continues to increase while the GPA necessary to be hired into a CPA firm steadily increases due to the excessive amount of accounting grads. Continue to do your research. Good Luck.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (3) / No (3) Reply - Report abuse

Janeta in Phoenix, Arizona

34 months ago