College student thinking of becoming an Accountant?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (4)

wickedmaniac in Desert Hot Springs, California

27 months ago

I graduated High School in 2011, but I didn't graduate with the best GPA, so I'm attending a Community College because A. It's cheaper, and B. I can sort of reinvent myself as a student. I plan to transfer on to a 4 year university after here in California. With that said, I've looked at a myriad of different options as far as majors and job sectors go and one of them has been Accounting.

My hurdle is this: I'm not very good with Mathematics, though I've read one of the biggest misconceptions is that Accountants love Math, when in reality, they use mostly basic arithmetic. That's do-able for me. Plus, I've been meaning to kind of re-learn math from the bottom up since I have a few pre-requisite courses in Math.

Is there any advice anyone can give me as far as class structure or really what to do from here if I want to proceed studying Accountancy? How should I map out my classes? What are the best 4 year schools in California for Accounting? Anything would be appreciated.

Thank you!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (4) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Pax Teecum in Saint Augustine, Florida

26 months ago