Changing my life...entry level accounting GMAT and CPA

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (8)

Sundizz in Suwon, Korea, Republic of

34 months ago

I graduated with a business economics degree in December 2007, and did quite a lot of coursework in accounting (but chose not to get the emphasis at the time stupidly). I am currently teaching abroad but would like to get back into high paying jobs (accounting/business) when I return. I just re-contracted at my current teaching job for another year. I have a year to get everything in place for when I return to the U.S

I plan to take the GMAT in 4 months from now. After that, I plan to take two online accounting classes (maybe Peachtree/software) as I need another 8 accounting units to meet the CPA test requirement for California. Concurrently, I'd study for the CPA exam as well during that time.

I am just curious what would be a possible career path to take for me. I don't have any experience in accounting or much relevant experience in business since I graduated. Currently, I'm 26. I'd like to be in a 150k+ job by the time I'm 31.

My imagination paints a picture of this being realistic; but I truly don't know. I think if I get the CPA, work for a year and then go back to get my MBA I should have some viable options? I'd like to have a designation, such as CPA, to fortify my perceived ability to work on the finance side of a company.

Any insight or suggestions would be very helpful and appreciated =)

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Bean counter in San Jose, California

34 months ago

Read the online profiles of people in the field that you are interested in; see what positions they're in with their MBA and CPA.

Check out online for those companies and positions that pay $150K+ in the finance/accounting field. I would say typically you need to be a director.