Any advice for someone wanting to switch to a career in accounting?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (2)

AT in Orlando, Florida

11 months ago

Hello! So I'm in a bit of a dilemma but before I get into all of that, here is my educational background.

-Psychology BSc., with a minor in Statistics (courses in Non-Parametric Statistics, Sample Survey Methods, Categorical Data Analysis, and Statistical Methods I-III)
-GPA = 3.89
-Currently in 2nd year of Human Factors Psychology Ph.D
-Ph.D GPA = 3.9 something

I'm currently in my 2nd year of a human factors psychology ph.d program, but I am pretty sick of it. I am doing just fine in my graduate coursework, and I enjoy the subject itself, but I am not a fan of the actual research aspects of the program. I initially thought research would be for me, but now I am quite sick of it. If I am honest, I've never really been a big people person either. Thus, I am looking into other career possibilities. I have decided upon accounting because it seems like it would be a really good fit to my personality (i.e., very detail oriented, prefer rules over abstract, like numbers, etc.).

In considering the possible ways I can work my way into the field of accounting, I have come up with three options on the education side of things.

-Get a 2nd Bachelors degree in Accounting
-Get a Masters degree in Accounting
-Get an MBA with an Accounting emphasis

I was wondering what your suggestions would be for someone who has no business experience or coursework? What are some of the pros and cons of these three options?

I would also be interested in finding an entry level accounting job (even if it was bookkeeping type work), but I am worried no one would give me a chance considering my lack of any business experience or coursework. Have you, or do you know anyone who has, been able to do something similar? I basically just want something that would help get me integrated into the field.