Typical Duties

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (5)

A in Newark, New Jersey

82 months ago

I have been a admin assistant at 3 different jobs now. First I feel like the title of admin assistant is just a fancy term for secretary in some jobs. My first experience was bad, I was bored all the time, the office manager who I was assisting didn't have enough work to give me and did it all her self so I didn't do much, when my boss wanted me to do telemarketing that was the end of that job. The second job was for a construction company and I was constantly running around, sitting on jobs, going to building departments, overseeing projects ect...I had to leave that job because certain reasons unfortunatley and set up with a temp agency. They hired me too a creative agency and I guess my title is admin assistant/studio assistant.

Now first off this is a growing company, just starting out, everything is done on computers, the phone barely rings everything is pretty self sufficeint. I do random word docs or spreadsheets when someone needs something typed, fed ex packages, and manage the studio inventory. I realize I need to be pro active and find work for myself but I honestly cannot think of anything I need to be doing. I have organized the adress book, and the files, made inventory spreadsheets, job sreadsheets cleaned the office ect.

Is it just me or there really nothing I should be doing because i feel guilty that i just sit at my desk and browse online all day but if no ones really giving me anything to do is there much for me to do?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No Reply - Report abuse

Patricia

82 months ago

Are you the only admin? Can you ask the other admins if you could help them? I would always be making myself available to assist others.

If that doesn't work I would discuss the situation with your HR Manager.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

K in Temple, Texas

81 months ago