Experienced in diverse job history

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (11)

CherylinHalvorsen in Clarksville, Tennessee

78 months ago

I have 2 degrees and it seems like most of the administrative assistant jobs only require HS or GED and several years expereience.

I have a great deal of experience doing clerical work, etc. however, that 15 years ago. I also have medical experience, but again that was 15 years ago.

Where do I find administrative assistant employement that is willing to pay what I need to live on?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Scarlett

78 months ago

It's funny because where I live (NYC), you can't get an administrative assistant job without at least one degree. I know because even though I have over 30 years of solid experience and good computer skills, I don't have a degree and therefore can't find a job. Here in New York City, it seems like you need a degree just to answer the phone and file paperwork.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No Reply - Report abuse

Richard Rinyai in Toronto, Ontario

78 months ago

I agree. That's how government works as well. You have to have no skills and you can get a job.

To become a garbage collector, you need a high school diploma. I don't see the point for it.

Just my 2 cents.

Thanks,

Richard Rinyai
www.theprofessionalassistant.net

June in Windham, Ohio

78 months ago

Hello again Denver, I've left the receptionists and am over here joining the administrative assistant comments.

Your comment to Cheryl in Tennessee concerning "removing all date and time references from your resume" is a good idea. I'm going to do that!