What is the next logical step after admin?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (36)

Holly Keisic in North Tonawanda, New York

82 months ago

Laura in Dallas, Texas said: I am a great admin, no doubt about it. But, as with most in the profession, I am sick of it. I'm sick of being a babysitter, travel arranger, party planner, computer guru, etc. However, as someone without a college degree, I have not had enough confidence to try to make a leap in the past. I feel pigeonholed by others and myself. What is the best way forward? I currently work at a mortgage company and I have no desire to get into sales or operations, which are the only places to "go" from my position. I am fairly savvy when it comes to HR/marketing. Is my best bet finding a decent assistant position in these fields and working my way up? I am in my mid-30s now (I worked in education for most of my 20s and made the switch to an admin role about 7 years ago) and I don't want to wake up and be 40 and still doing everyone else's work for them. Anyone have any experience in this capacity?

Laura,